This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to Archives  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2010 URL: http://umalibguides.uma.edu/Introduction_to_Archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to Introduction to Archives

In 2000, the University of Maine's Library and Information Science program introduced ILSA 312 Preservation and Archiving of Library materials taught by Anastasia S. Weigle. Since then, it has evolved into what is now called "Introducton to Archives." Institutions like libraries, archives and museums, gather, preserve and interpret thevarious records of human cultural heritage. The archivist role has become more diverse and not only deals with both analog and digital collections, they must also understand new metadata applications such the Archivist Toolkit, Encoded Archival Describtion and Dublic Core, to name a few.  As the world of archives change, so does how researchers access collections. Students will be provided with an introduction to the theories and practices of the beginning archivist or archival student. Students will read and discuss basic archival principles such as appraisal,  arrangement and description of institutional and historical records in library and museum collections. Students will also learn the importance of materials preservation. Lastly, the electronic age will also be covered including electronic archives or “Born Digital” collections will also be addressed.

Your Guide

Profile Image
Anastasia Weigle
Contact Info
10 Longwood Avenue
Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip