Resource Guides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Other Web Resources

WomenWatch -- RSS Feed

United Nations Women news feed.

Additional resources

Here are several websites, archives, and other institutions with content on women's, gender, and sexuality. For more information on each site, hover your cursor over the information icon.

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites A selective, annotated listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies and women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.
Women's Studies Database Well-known site from the University of Maryland Women's Studies Department.
New York Public Library Women's Studies Research Guide Guide to the vast resources of the NYPL's research collections in women's studies; includes links to internet sites and to resources at other institutions.
Discovering American Women's History Online This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. The database offers the following features: Detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections Quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page Options for browsing by subject (300+ entries), place, time period, and primary source type Options for narrowing search results by subject, time period, place, and primary source type RSS feeds (at right) alert users to new records in the database. An interactive map links more than 500 locations (towns, schools, buildings) with relevant online primary sources.
Wisconsin Bibliographies in Women's Studies A comprehensive and current list of bibliographies from the University of Wisconsin’s Women’s Studies Librarian’s Office. Very rich source of information.
American Women - Library of Congress Gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States.
Barnard Center for Research on Women Supports and promotes research on a wide range of feminist and social justice issues.
UN WomenWatch WomenWatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.
VG: Voices from the Gaps Provides resources about women writers and artists of color.
Women in the Labor Force: A Databook A U.S. Department of Labor Databook.
National Women's History Alliance Expanded from the original National Women's History Project, founded in 1980, is an educational nonprofit organization. Its mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
National Women's Studies Association A professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service wherever they be found.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches From Around the World Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

Cornell University Human Sexuality Collection "The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography."
Kinsey Institute Library (Indiana University) The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. The Kinsey Institute Collections encompass print materials, film and video, fine art, artifacts, photography, and archives. The Institute has collected publications, objects, art, and data from six continents.
Lesbian Herstory Archives The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities
The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives Welcome to the ONE Archives Foundation, Inc., an independent 501(c)(3) dedicated to telling the accurate and authentic stories of LGBTQ people, history and culture through public exhibitions, educational projects and trainings, and community outreach programs. Our exhibitions, school programs, and community outreach programs are free. We depend entirely on members of the public and private foundations for support.
National Museum of Women in the Arts The only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts. Get inspired by women artists and advocate for gender equity in the arts.

Video Lectures by Nancy Unger

Here is a collection of video lectures by Professor and Chair of the History Department at Santa Clara University, Nancy Unger.

Who is Nancy Unger?

In addition to her role at Santa Clara University, Nancy Unger is the author of two award-winning biographies, Fighting Bob La Follette: The Righteous Reformer; and Belle La Follette: Progressive Era Reformer. She is the author of dozens of scholarly articles, essays, and books on the history of progressive reform as well as gender issues.

Video: LGBTQ History: Supporting Diversity in Research and Teaching, and Why It Matters

C-Span Video Lecture Series on Women and Sexuality in America:

American Women in Environmental History
This video from C-Span features a lecture by Dr. Nancy Unger on women and environmental history from the 19th Century through to the 1960's.
Women's Rights Activist Belle La Follette
Women’s rights activist Belle La Follette was politically active in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Dr. Unger tells the story of this journalist, suffragist, and pacifist who campaigned alongside her husband and son in their bids for office.
Gays and Lesbians in Early 20th Century America
The history of LGBTQ+ people in early 20th century America.
Role of Gay Bars in American History
By the end of the 19th century, bars and clubs catering to homosexuals could be found in most major American cities. These establishments offered gays and lesbians not only a place to socialize, but served as venues for creating movements to push for more social and legal acceptance.

Local Groups and Organizations

Maine Women Writers Collection
The Maine Women Writers Collection of the University of New England is a permanently endowed special collection of published and non-published literary, cultural, and social history sources by and about Maine women writers, either native or residents of Maine.
HRC Local: Maine
The Human Rights Campaign fights for LGBT equality in Maine alongside state and local groups.
The Holocaust and Human Rights Center of Maine (HHRC)
The mission of the HHRC:
The Holocaust and Human Rights Center of Maine promotes universal respect for human rights through outreach and education. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other events past and present we encourage individuals and communities to reflect and act upon their moral responsibilities to confront prejudice, intolerance and discrimination.
Equality Maine
EqualityMaine works to secure full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in Maine through political action, community organizing, education, and collaboration.