Resource Guides: Fine Arts &amp; Art History: Find Articles

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Cory Budden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Nottage Library
Bangor Campus

207-262-7893

Recommended databases for research

The library provides access to tons of databases, but the ones listed here are more focused on art and architecture. Hover over the icon to read through the descriptions to see what kind of resources you'll find in each of them.

You can also search through OneSearch, which searches all of our databases at one time. The OneSearch is the main search field on the library homepage, or you can use the widget below to start your search.

Indexes & Databases

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from 1984 to present about art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative, from periodicals published throughout the world. Art Full Text also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins,as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. There is expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. For more recent years there are article abstracts (1994+) and full text articles from selected periodicals (1997+).
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to volumes 1-32 of Wilson's Art Index. International in scope. Covers architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative. Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window The Fine Arts & Music Collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center This link opens in a new window Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center provides full-text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today. Including full text for more than 960 magazines and books, as well as access to more than 720 videos and more than 140 hobby profiles, this database offers detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Subject areas include arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection This link opens in a new window In May, 2014, the Museum announced that more than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum's website for non-commercial use -- including in scholarly publications in any media -- without permission from the Museum and without a fee. The number of available images will increase as new digital files are added on a regular basis.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.

Using JSTOR & ARTSTOR

OneSearch: Start Here!

Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once! What is OneSearch?