Resource Guides: Aviation: Find Articles

Learning Experience Librarian

Veronica Nargi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Katz Library
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME

207-621-3309

Contact UMA Libraries

OneSearch: Start Here!

Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once! What is OneSearch?

Aviation History
"Aviation History Magazine is an authoritative, in-depth history of world aviation from its origins to the Space Age. Aviation History offers air enthusiasts the most detailed coverage of the history of manned flight".
Aviation Week & Space Technology
Articles on the aviation and aerospace industries, including military and civilian aircraft, weapons, rockets, and space exploration. Print copy available in the Katz Library. Contact librarian for login credentials to online access.
More online journals in Aviation
Link to a list of titles with the word Aviation

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Maine Newspapers This link opens in a new window Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
UMA Databases (A-Z) This link opens in a new window
Click to view UMA Databases Alphabetically

What is a scholarly article?

Vossler, Joshua; Watts, John; and Hodge, Tim, "What is a Scholarly Article?" (2011). Kimbel Library First Year Experience Instructional Videos. 9.
https://digitalcommons.coastal.edu/kimbel-library-instructional-videos/9

Thank you to Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library.
Created by Eli Moody, 2007.

Thank you to VCU Libraries!

Please click on the image below for an interactive version.

How to read a scholarly article

Peer-Review and Evaluating Articles

What does Peer-Reviewed mean?

A scholarly periodical requires that each article submitted for publication be judged by an independent panel of experts (scholarly or scientific peers). Articles not approved by a majority of these peers are not accepted for publication by the journal. Peer-reviewed articles are generally considered to be scholarly and reliable resources.

Peer-Review Process Explained:

How do I tell the difference between scholarly articles, popular articles, and trade articles?

From the University of Maine at Farmington: Guide to identifying scholarly sources

	Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Professional / Trade Journals
Written by	scholars / researchers	journalists	journalists / industry experts
Written for	professors, students	general public	people who work in that field
Looks like	mostly text, may have charts & graphs	glossy covers, many advertisements, & photographs	glossy covers & industry specific ads
Articles	contains original search/analysis usually signed by the author long articles written in scholarly/technical lang. contain bibliographies peer-reviewed	info about current events, trends, pop culture not always signed by the author short articles written for general reader no bibliographies not peer-reviewed	report on industry news & trends not always signed by author short articles written in tech lang. specific to industry may be bibliographies could be peer-reviewed
Examples	Studies in Short Fiction Journal of Chemical Education	Time * Newsweek Ladies Home Journal	RN * Accounting Review Library Journal