Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianUse this link to contact the library for help via email.
- UMA Libraries Home Page
- Off-Campus Library ServicesIf you take classes at a site or center, click here to get your library card and access services for off-campus students.
- Check Your Library RecordCheck your library record, renew books, etc.
- Interlibrary LoanFor requesting books and articles you can't find using our copious resources
Accessing Journal Articles from Home
To access databases from home you will need to "Authenticate" into the University of Maine System. You will be prompted by this box once you select the database to search. Simply enter your LAST name ONLY and your 14 digit library barcode number.
This is what the authentication prompt will look like:

Books - where & how to find them
1. At UMA/Katz/Nottage Library, use the URSUS catalog to find books in the Katz/Nottage Library, the University of Maine System, and beyond.
2. If you don't find what you need using URSUS, then try MaineCat, which contains books from all over Maine.
3. If no library in Maine owns the book, try searching the worldwide library catalog: WorldCat.
If you locate the book you want in WorldCat, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan. This service provides access to millions of items outside the state of Maine. Please plan ahead - turnaround time for requests outside of Maine can be a week or more, depending on the location of the lending library.

Article Databases
Use these databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
- Maine NewsstandIndex to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
- PsycARTICLESDatabase of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals
- Full list of UMA Indexes & DatabasesHere is list of ALL the indexes & databases. View them by subject, title or search by keyword.
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
