Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianUse this link to contact the library for help via phone, live chat or email.
- Katz Library Home Page
- UMaine Library Catalog - Books & More
- MaineCat - statewide book database
- Check Your Library RecordCheck your library record, renew books, etc.
- Interlibrary LoanFor requesting books and articles you can't find using our copious resources
Accessing the Indexes & Databases from Home
To access databases from home you will need to "Authenticate" into the University of Maine System. You will be prompted by this box once you select the database to search, simply enter your LAST name ONLY and your 14 digit library barcode number.
This is what the authentication prompt will look like:
Get started with great background info
Key Article/Newspaper Databases
After you select a database, on the next screen you need to click on the database title (in blue) on the left side of the screen;if you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in using your last name and library barcode number.
- Academic Search CompleteCovers all disciplines. Mostly full-text from 8,000 publlications, many peer-reviewed. Limit search to full-text and scholarly, if desired. When e-mailing articles, select citation style to include formatted citation.
- America: History & LifeIndex to research on the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistoric times to the present. Includes references to journal articles, books and book reviews, dissertations, and collective works.
- Historical AbstractsIndex to articles, dissertations, and books on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Works on U.S. and Canadian history are covered in America: History and Life.
- JSTORA digital archive of complete backfiles for 360 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic UniverseSearchable index providing full-text access to current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, general medical and health topics.
- New York Times
- ProQuest Newsstand
Access to major newspapers such as the Washington Post, Christian Sci Monitor, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, etc.
Primary Sources
- Annals of American History
Provides access to over 2,100 original full-text source documents on United States history from 1493 to the present. Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, and editorials from more than 1,500 authors. - American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress.
Your Personal Librarian |
Contact Info: 46 University Drive Katz Library University of Maine at Augusta Augusta, ME 04330 207.621.3363/3349 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading content... please wait
