Resource Guides: History: HTY 325: History of Human Rights

Librarian's Note

The links on this page are intended for use by students in Robert Bernheim's course, HTY 325: The History of Human Rights. In addition you may find many resources online via OneSearch, or the URSUS library catalog. If you want to browse the library shelves in-person, try the following book sections:

D: World History and the History of Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E: History of the Americas
F: Local History of the Americas
G: Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation

Art: HTY 325

Political Cartoons

Search for political cartoons using advanced search!

HTY 325: Background information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Thousands of articles, primary sources, and online books designed to support personalized learning and enhance digital citizenship. Contains up-to-the-minute access to worldwide news publications, government links from numerous countries, and multimedia reference materials. World Book Advanced uses technology to deepen comprehension, encourage collaboration between users, and create digital natives.

Video Clip assignment and other resources

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of titles digitized from libraries around the world. The HathiTrust Digital Library database of more than 10 million volumes spans several centuries and many languages. Search options include full text and bibliographic record fields, including title, author, and date. More than 3.4 million of the contributed volumes are in the public domain and therefore may be freely viewed online, one page at a time.
Please note that HathiTrust does not permit download or viewing the full text of books that are still under copyright (typically those published since 1923), except in certain cases to provide access to authorized University of Maine faculty, staff, and student users with print format disabilities, or to provide access to titles under 17 U.S. Code § 108.
National Gallery of Art: The Collection This link opens in a new window
Presents information about the collection at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. Allows users to search the collection by artist, title, or a combination of criteria. Contains a list of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper that are grouped by school. Links to the National Gallery of Art.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with sound files, musical examples, and Web links.
Also known as: New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; Oxford Music Online

Printed Ephemera: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
The collection contains, among other materials, posters, playbills, songsheets, notices, invitations, proclamations, petitions, timetables, leaflets, propaganda, manifestos, ballots, tickets, menus, and business cards. There are more than 28,000 items in the collection with 10,172 available online. The material dates from the seventeenth century to the present day and covers innumerable topics.

Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. Integrates into curriculum through learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
Digital Campus (Swank Motion Pictures) This link opens in a new window
Click "Use maine.edu Login" to use.
Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters)". Please contact Cynthia Young or Donna Maher to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog.

HTY 325: Article Databases

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search and read full-text for the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It features content from more than 2,000 newspapers, newswires, and news sites, and represents one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching. This resource replaces now-retired "ProQuest Newspapers."
Regarding Bangor Daily News: Global Newsstream content for the Bangor Daily News has not been available since June 16, 2022! Proquest has attempted to contact them several times without success. As a result, the issue has been escalated higher up in the company. This has happened several times over the last several years, although not to this extent, and BDN will not backfill missing content, so hopefully this will not be the case again.

Please share as needed.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
Slavery in America and the world : history, culture & law This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law is a HeinOnline collection that brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to:Promote international and intercultural understanding; Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. -- About/Mission page from website viewed November 9,2012