Dental Health

A research guide for students enrolled in Dental Hygiene and Dental Assisting degree programs at UMA Bangor.

Director of Library Services

Profile Photo
Cynthia Young
Contact:
UMA Libraries
University of Maine at Augusta
Bangor, ME 04401
(207) 262-7905
Website

Quick Dental Article Search

What are Indexes & Databases?

When librarians talk about indexes and databases, we usually mean tools that help you find articles.

A periodical index is a list of articles from journals and magazines.  People use them to find articles listed by author(s), title, or subject(s) of the articles.

Sometimes these indexes are called periodical databases when they're online, especially when they carry the full text of some or all of the articles that they list.

You can find a list of all UMA's indexes and databases in the A-Z list: UMA Databases A-Z

Indexes & Databases

You can use any of the databases below to find scholarly journal articles in health, including dental health.

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number. 

Maine.edu Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.

URSUS Library Login: Library card/student ID/barcode numbers must be current and activated with the library in order for this option to work.

This is an IMAGE ONLY, showing the screen and instructions that will appear when you are using the library online: