Resource Guides: Archives and Special Collections Management: Databases

Trial Database

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new window
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are composed of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions).
Users will be granted access to the resource by following this multi-step process, as listed on the resource's web page: 1) Register in Aviary CLICK HERE! 2) Receive Confirmation Email 3) Search and Request Access to Testimonies and 4) View Requested Testimonies.

Indexes/Database

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
DigitalCommons@UMaine This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons at UMaine provides access to the scholarly, educational, and creative works of the University of Maine community. It contains over 12,000 full-text works from over 700 academic disciplines, including theses and dissertations, and provides links to other Maine Digital Commons as well as the global Digital Commons Network.
DigitalMaine Repository This link opens in a new window
DigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full text and index to all aspects of library and information science including reference services, library automation, cataloging, children's literature, collection development, electronic searching and censorship.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings, with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s.
LibraryMine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to mining publications that are available on the Internet, including thousands of conference proceedings, journal articles, magazine articles, theses, technical papers, and reports. The records link to papers that can be found on other websites (such as governments, universities, associations, societies, consultants, etc.). The database does not contain records where you have to pay to access the publication (pay-per-view or subscription); any publication found through LibraryMine is instantly available for free.
Alternate Title: InfoMine