Resource Guides: Mental Health & Human Services: Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

Full text not available?

Many of the articles in the databases are full-text. This means that you can print, email, or save the entire article from the database.

For articles that are not full-text, you may place an electronic request by using the Article Linker button, or by submitting a request online via ILL.

ILL Guide and FAQs

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

Find Articles

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Psychiatry Online -- Includes DSM-V This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online is a searchable full text database that includes the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Library (DSM) Library, scholarly journals, and textbooks published by the American Psychiatry Association.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Index to the literature of family science, human ecology, and human development. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and government reports. Updated monthly.
UMA Databases (A-Z) This link opens in a new window
Click to view UMA Databases Alphabetically

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.