Resource Guides: Consumer Health Information: Online Resources

Online Resources

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC is the nation’s health protection agency, working 24/7 to protect America from health and safety threats, both foreign and domestic. CDC increases the health security of our nation. This website is available in English and Spanish, and has multilingual content.
HealthFinder
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website offers an encyclopedia of over 1600 health topics from reliable resources, numerous personal health tools such as health quizzes to assess disease risk, links to health services and organizations, as well as current health news headlines. This website is available in English and Spanish.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. This website is available in English and Spanish, and has multilingual content.
Merck Manual Consumer Version
The best first place to go for medical information - thousands of topics in all medical fields. Authored by hundreds of top medical experts. Photos, Videos, Animations and more! Available in English, Spanish, and other languages.
MLA Top Health Websites
The MLA deemed these websites particularly useful based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency (timeliness), disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers.

Complementary and Integrative Medicine (CAM) : MedlinePlus
Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies, including a database of herbs and supplements.
National Center for Integrative and Complementary Health
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Eat Right
The site of the American Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Includes nutrition fact sheets, health and lifestyle tips, and additional resources.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Information about research, food labeling, dietary guidelines, and more from the US Department of Agriculture.
Food Safety
Your Gateway to Food Safety Information. Get the latest news, alerts, and tips on safely handling and storing food to prevent food poisoning. Language assistance is available.
MyPlate/MyPlateKitchen
MyPlate is a reminder to find your healthy eating style and build it throughout your lifetime. MyPlateKitchen provides recipes and resources to support building healthy and budget-friendly meals. Available in English, Spanish, and multiple other languages.
Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. Find links to information from Federal agencies, non-governmental organizations, and universities with expertise in food and human nutrition to help you make healthful eating choices.
United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
This FDA website contains a multitude of links for consumers, health professionals, researchers and industry. This website is available in English and Spanish.

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. Explore 318,751 research studies in all 50 states and in 209 countries. ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Drug Information Portal
Quick access to quality drug information provided in English and Spanish.
Pillbox - National Library of Medicine
The Pillbox website was developed to aid in the identification of unknown pills. It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage for medications.

About Herbs, Botanicals, and other Products
Information about herbs, botanicals, and other supplements from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.
Dietary Supplement Labels Database (DSLD)
Contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Herbs at a Glance
Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Information on dietary supplements for consumers, scientists, and health professionals.