by Cory Budden
Last Updated Jan 23, 2024
66 views this year
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
LGBTQ+ SourceThis link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 magazines, journals, books, and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and important speeches. It also includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowThis is a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia.
General history databases
Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersThis link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Making of America (Cornell)This link opens in a new windowThe Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts. Optical Character Recognition (OCR) has been performed on the images to enhance searching and accessing the texts.
Making of America (Michigan)This link opens in a new windowMaking of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. At the Michigan MoA site, collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 13 journals (50,000 journal articles) with 19th century imprints.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digital publishing program from Gale focusing on primary source collections. It includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.
Alternate Title: NCCO
DigitalMaineThis link opens in a new windowDigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Maine Memory NetworkThis link opens in a new windowThe Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 200 organizations from across Maine.
Maine NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIndex to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
US Women's history - primary resources
If you find any other good primary resource materials, please let me know!
National Archives: womenThe struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC (Archives Library Information Center) presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.
Politics and Women
Women in the Military
Discovering American Women’s History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
The database offers the following features:
Detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections
Quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page
Options for browsing by subject (300+ entries), place, time period, and primary source type
Options for narrowing search results by subject, time period, place, and primary source type
RSS feeds (at right) alert users to new records in the database.
An interactive map links more than 500 locations (towns, schools, buildings) with relevant online primary sources.
Primary Sources — History of U.S. Woman's Suffrage:The Early Republic
Calling for Suffrage at the Seneca Falls
Early Organizing Efforts
Civil War Activism
The 14th and 15th Amendments
Reformers on the Lecture Circuit
National Woman Suffrage Association
Legal Case of Minor v. Happersett
Women Suffrage in the West
National American Woman Suffrage Association
Opposition to Suffrage
Progressive Era Reformers
National Association of Colored Women
Working Women in the Movement
National Women's Party and Militant Methods
Imagery and Propaganda
The 19th Amendment
Women's History Primary Source SetsSpecific artifacts (images, manuscripts, maps, sound files) with analysis tools help students think like historians about a particular historical event or phenomenon.
Guide to Online Primary Sources: WomenSubject listings of primary sources available online: free web collections as well as UCSD subscription-based resources. Includes a custom Google search engine to keyword search across many of the listed sites.
National Women's History MuseumExplore topics and articles about women in American history.
Why Women's History?
Women's contributions and accomplishments for the most part have been overlooked and consequently omitted from mainstream culture. The National Women's History Museum helps fill that void. Rather than rewriting current exhibitions at other history museums or having to decide what to omit elsewhere to "fit in" women's history, the Museum serves to place women's history along side current historical exhibitions.
Digital Transgender ArchiveThe purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
American Women: Library of CongressUnlike most American Memory presentations, American Women is not a collection of digital items. It is a gateway--a first stop for Library of Congress researchers working in the field of American women's history.
The site contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States (Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2001). The guide has been redesigned for online use, with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site. These materials are supplemented by a small number of newly digitized items that provide a sample of the many relevant types of materials available in Library of Congress holdings (see Building the Digital Collection). The Research Guide also provides practical search tips, detailed collection summaries of the Library's voluminous multiformat holdings, and links to fuller catalog record descriptions and digitized material (see About the Guide for further information regarding the content and structure of the Research Guide portion of the site, as well as tips for using its search feature).
Women Working, 1800-1930An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at firstname.lastname@example.org to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.