Resource Guides: Maine History & Government: Maine History & Government

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Donna Maher

Email Me

Contact:

207-621-3161

Contact UMA Libraries

Primary Source Materials

Directory of Bills (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window
Maine Legislature Legislative Documents (L.D.) For the 119th Legislature-
Legislative History (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window
INDIVIDUAL Legislative Histories:
Compiled legislative histories for every Public Law, Private and Special Law, Resolve, Constitutional Resolution, Initiated Bill, Legislative Document, and House or Senate Paper since 1993. Includes links to full-text documents.
TOPICAL Legislative Histories:
Subject-themed legislative histories on popular topics such as amendments to the Maine Constitution, abortion, and term limits. Includes links to full text documents.
Legislative Record (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window
This site contains the full scanned text of the proceedings and debate of the Maine State Legislature from the first volume, issued in 1897, to the end of the previous session.
Legislative Reports (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window
Legislative reports, study reports, executive summaries of reports of the Maine State Legislature
Maine Census Data This link opens in a new window
Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present. Special search keys provided include: county/year; town/year; population threshold (maximum or minimum); population trend (increasing or decreasing); and master list of towns. Some annotation is included for boundary changes of minor civil divisions.
Maine Town Reports This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable reports from forty-two towns are available. The ongoing project currently represents a range of geographic, cultural and business interests across all sixteen counties in the state. The focus has been on the earliest reports published up through 1950. The Maine Town Reports Digital Project is a collaboration between Fogler Library and the Maine State Library.

Laws of the State of Maine
Maine State Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Laws of Maine beginning with the 118th Legislature. Includes a Search Feature.

OpenURL Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL