Resource Guides: HTY 325: History of Human Rights: Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

Key Article/Newspaper Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States is a 2006 Cambridge University Press publication and database that updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
British Newspapers, 1780 -1950 is a digital historic newspaper archive. It cross-searches and provides full-text access to national & regional papers from the British Isles in the following Gale collections: 19th century British Library Newspapers, Parts 1 and 2; and British Newspapers,1780-1950, Parts 3 and 4.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text digital access to nearly every monograph published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, more than 32 million pages of text in over 182,000 titles. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), ECCO includes a wide variety of materials: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Alternate Title: ECCO
European Views of the Americas This link opens in a new window
This is an index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Burney Newspapers Collection (17th-18th Century) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
Alternate Title: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digital publishing program from Gale focusing on primary source collections. It includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.
Alternate Title: NCCO
Palmer Collection This link opens in a new window
The William P. Palmer III Collection of archaeological material from Mexico and Central America and ethnographic holdings from the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada is the Hudson Museum's pre-eminent collection. The Palmer Collection features an internationally significant assemblage of 2,828 Precolumbian ceramics, lithics and gold work dating from 2000 BC to the Spanish Conquest. In addition to its Precolumbian component, the collection includes over 200 objects from the Northwest Coast that date to the heyday of Northwest Coast collecting, 1875-1930. (More about the collection: http://library.umaine.edu/hudson/palmer/about.asp ).
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to:Promote international and intercultural understanding; Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. -- About/Mission page from website viewed November 9,2012
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Primary Sources Available via the Library

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.

OpenURL Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL