Resource Guides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Find Articles

Find Articles

Here is a list of recommended library databases for resources related to Gender & Sexuality Studies:

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 magazines, journals, books, and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and important speeches. It also includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
New York Times (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Contact UMA Libraries

OneSearch: Start Here!

Article Linker

Find Articles