Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowContains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
HeinOnline AcademicThis link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline)This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
U.S. Census DataThis link opens in a new windowU.S. Census Bureau's gateway to statistics from popular data resources including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and others.
Points of View Reference SourceThis link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic also features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowExplores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents “supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.” Access to the site for the University of Maine System is granted via proxy and IP authentication.
Legislative History (Maine State Legislature)This link opens in a new windowINDIVIDUAL Legislative Histories:
Compiled legislative histories for every Public Law, Private and Special Law, Resolve, Constitutional Resolution, Initiated Bill, Legislative Document, and House or Senate Paper since 1993. Includes links to full-text documents.
TOPICAL Legislative Histories:
Subject-themed legislative histories on popular topics such as amendments to the Maine Constitution, abortion, and term limits. Includes links to full text documents.
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowIndex to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowUsing this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)This link opens in a new windowAnnual reports based on crime data reported by more than 17,000 law enforcement agencies, nation-wide.
Westlaw Campus ResearchThis link opens in a new windowLegal, news, and business-related research for students, faculty, and library staff. Faculty and students can work more efficiently and productively, and with more confidence, with Thomson Reuters Westlaw Campus Research, a premier research service for the legal, news, and business-related information they need.
HeinOnline AcademicThis link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents “supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.” Access to the site for the University of Maine System is granted via proxy and IP authentication.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowContains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline)This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)This link opens in a new windowAnnual reports based on crime data reported by more than 17,000 law enforcement agencies, nation-wide.
Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. Integrates into curriculum through learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.
