Resource Guides: Biology: Find Articles

Learning Experience Librarian

Veronica Nargi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Katz Library
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME

207-621-3309

Contact UMA Libraries

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

Find Articles

Start by using terms directly from the assignment (example: enzyme structure and function) as search terms.

For best access to all available library materials in the below databases, log in with your student credentials through Brightspace or through your portal at mycampus.maine.edu.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
With the General Science Collection, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Original research articles from over 170 BMC journals are freely available. However, BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services, including some affiliated with these journals, that require a subscription. For example, certain BioMed Central journals such as Genome Biology publish commissioned review content available only to subscribers. Fogler Library subscribes to the following BMC journals: Genome Biology.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope. Updated quarterly.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
Academic Video Online: Science & Engineering This link opens in a new window
Science & Engineering Discipline-specific Titles.
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
CogPrints Electronic Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Published weekly, Nature is an international journal publishing original, groundbreaking research spanning all of the scientific disciplines, as Articles, Letters to Nature and Brief Communications. Each issue also includes extensive secondary comment, including Reviews, News, New Features, Essays, News and Views, Book Reviews, Correspondance, Commentary, Opinion, and Naturejobs. Full-text available from January 1997-Present.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Experiments is collection of protocols and methods for life sciences research. It comprises Protocols Exchange (an open access repository); and subscription titles Nature Methods; Nature Protocols; and SpringerProtocols, including Methods in Molecular Biology. The collection database is free to search, but full text access varies by library, depending upon subscribed titles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.