Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

How to set up a folder in an EBSCO Database

How to set up a folder in any EBSCO Database

Click on the button in blue that says: Sign In to My EBCSOhost.

Click on “I’m a new user”

Type in your information and click on Submit at the bottom of the page

You will see a message that lets you know your account has been created.

Click on Continue.

You will be taken back to the first screen and will notice a yellow band across the EBSCOhost button that says My Folder on it. This lets you know you are now logged in and can begin to put articles in your folder.

It is important to log in before you do your search. To add items to your folder click on Add to folder.

Once you place items in your folder they will stay in there until you delete them. You will notice the folder icon at the top of the page will appear open this will let you know you know you have successfully added an article.

To view all articles in your folder simply click on the folder icon you will see the items listed on the next screen.

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Psychiatry Online -- Includes DSM-V This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online is a searchable full text database that includes the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Library (DSM) Library, scholarly journals, and textbooks published by the American Psychiatry Association.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Index to the literature of family science, human ecology, and human development. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and government reports. Updated monthly.
UMA Databases (A-Z) This link opens in a new window
Click to view UMA Databases Alphabetically

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.