Resource Guides: French: Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

Find Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
Réseau francophone numérique This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Francophone library digital projects, including numerous journals, books, reviews, maps, and archives, from many sources worldwide. All of the contents are in French. Contributing libraries include the national libraries of Belgium, Canada, France, Luxembourg, Quebec and Switzerland, the Library of Alexandria, and several other French speaking institutions. Most of the materials are in public domain.

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.

OpenURL Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL