Film/Video - Copyright - URSUS Libraries - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

Streaming and Online Video for UMS Libraries

Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
Counseling and Therapy in Video-Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Swank (Digital Campus) This link opens in a new window
Click "Use maine.edu Login" to use.
Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters)". Please contact Cynthia Young or Donna Maher to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre has grown to become the world's biggest on demand platform specialising in delivering live arts content such as theatre, opera, classical music, and dance. With a simple and straightforward objective to make arts accessible regardless of geographical, social or economic boundaries, the team at Digital Theatre have filmed, acquired and distributed the very best in captured live entertainment.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. Integrates into curriculum through learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.

Videatives This link opens in a new window
Videatives' mission is to make children's thinking visible through the use of short video clips with supporting text. As our knowledge of children's intelligence grows, so does our ability to support the children's reflections on their thinking, their understandings and misconceptions about the social and physical world around them. Videative titles capture the details of what children know and how teachers can build from children's knowledge.
Institutional login: katzlibrary/K@tzlibr@ry*1

Government Documents

Web sites

Be sure to review terms of use.

American Memory Project
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." Images provided by the Library of Congress.
Center for Social Media
"The Center for Social Media showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with publics to address the problems that they share. We pay particular attention to the evolution of documentary film and video in a digital era." Information about the issues related to, rather than actual, film.
Center forSocial Media - Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education
Internet Archive Movie Archive
"This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."
IP and Documentary Film Chart
Infographic from the Center for the Study of Public Domain (Duke University), analyzes the impact copyright has on cultural production.
Wikimedia Commons
"A database of 20 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute".

Permission

The following links are provided as a courtesy to the patrons who wish to research copyright holders of particular items; this is currently a service the libraries at UMA provide, to the best of our ability.

Internet Movie Database
can be useful to determine who holds the rights to a particular film
Motion Picture Association of America
Motion Picture Licensing Corporation

Classroom Guidelines

1976 Copying Guidelines
developed by Ad Hoc Committee on Copyright Law Revision
Guidelines for Off-Air Recording of Broadcast Programming for Educational Purposes
Univeristy of California, Berkeley
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online Video