Resource Guides: Dental Health & Hygiene: Find Scholarly Articles

Contact Us

Finding Scholarly Articles Online

How to Find Articles in Library Databases

The video below provides a short demonstration on how to search for a dental hygiene topic in a database.

Indexes and Databases

Recommended Databases

The databases listed below focus on medical or dental health and hygiene subjects so they are ideal for finding articles for your research. In the video above, we go over how to start your research in two of these databases: PubMed and Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Many of the most popular full-text journals are available with no embargo. In addition, this resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source provides full-text access to dozens of scholarly journals, trade journals, and a number of monographs. Subject coverage ranges from periodontology and prosthodontics to public health and dental office management.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/