Resource Guides: LGBTQ+ Studies: Primary sources & more

Contact UMA Libraries

LGBT Theory/History

WikiPedia LGBT Portal
Portals are pages intended to serve as "Main Pages" for specific topics or areas. Portals may be associated with one or more WikiProjects; unlike WikiProjects, however, they are meant for both readers and editors of Wikipedia, and should promote content and encourage contribution. Portals shall be created for encyclopedic topics only and not for article maintenance categories. Click here for a listing of Wikipedia portals.

Archives & other library collections

Cornell University Human Sexuality Collection
"The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography."
Kinsey Institute Library (Indiana University)
The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. The Kinsey Institute Collections encompass print materials, film and video, fine art, artifacts, photography, and archives. The Institute has collected publications, objects, art, and data from six continents.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. "
The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The scope of the collections of ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is international, with a special focus on the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender history of Los Angeles
Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
International Gay Information Center collection, 1951-1994.
The collection documents the gay liberation movement in New York City and America from the 1950s to the 1980s.
more...less...
Included are records of the Gay Activists Alliance, the Gay Alliance of Brooklyn, Gay Switchboard of New York, theMattachine Society Inc. of New York, and records of miscellaneous organizations including Christopher Street That New Magazine, Inc., and the periodicals Gaysweek, andNew York Native. Personal papers include papers of LockettFord Ballard, Jr., Arthur Bell, Billy Wilder Blackwell, Perry Brass, Robert Clement, Don Jackson, Walter Porczak, and Sam Staggs. There are also miscellaneous records of IGIC, including correspondence, minutes, memoranda, photographs of gay rights demonstrations, scripts of playsby gay writers, and printed ephemera issued by gay, lesbian and AIDS organizations in the United States.

National Organizations

National Gay & Lesbian Task Force
"The mission of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is to build the grassroots power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community."
Human Rights Campaign
"Founded in 1980, the Human Rights Campaign advocates on behalf of LGBT Americans, mobilizes grassroots actions in diverse communities, invests strategically to elect fair-minded individuals to office and educates the public about LGBT issues."
Human Rights Watch - LGBT
"We document and expose abuses based on sexual orientation and gender identity worldwide – including torture, killing and executions, arrests under unjust laws, unequal treatment, censorship, medical abuses, discrimination in health and jobs and housing, domestic violence, abuses against children, and denial of family rights and recognition."
GLAAD
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) amplifies the voice of the LGBT community by empowering real people to share their stories, holding the media accountable for the words and images they present, and helping grassroots organizations communicate effectively.