Find Articles - SOC 201 - Social Problems - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

Contact UMA Libraries

Article Databases

Proquest Sociology This link opens in a new window ProQuest Sociology is a collection of selected journals with full-text coverage of many core titles included in the Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts databases. It covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Sociology Collection (includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Articles, government reports and more on family and human development.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Use this database for almost all subject areas. Provides full text for over 4500 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This is a great place to start your research or to get ideas for possible research topics. Congressional Quarterly Researcher explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. All full text.

Sociology databases

Annotated Bibliography

APA-Style Annotated Bibliography Example (Diana Hacker)

Annotated Bibliography Exmple (OWL Purdue)

How to read scholarly articles

How to read scholarly articles
"While books are undoubtedly fabulous resources, you will find shorter, specific, scholarly works in academic journals. Essays in academic journals are essentially reports that scholars write to their peers—present and future—about what they’ve done in their research, what they’ve found, and why they think it’s important. Thus, in a lot of fields they often have a structure reminiscent of the lab reports you’ve written for science classes"

How to read a scholarly article