Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

OneSearch: Start Here!

Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once! What is OneSearch?

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Includes: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Scribner's Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series.
Maine Newspapers This link opens in a new window Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
New York Times (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context answers the call for a better way to explore today's most hotly debated topics. This next-generation portal delivers a range of perspectives on important issues. Users find a remarkable compilation of proven reference content—including the award-winning Opposing Viewpoints series from Greenhaven Press— integrated with the best multimedia available today. With its scope and depth, Opposing Viewpoints In Context supports virtually any curricular, academic, or general-interest need. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch (also known as Summon) is the Library's Google-like search box. It's a single search for books, newspaper articles, journal articles, citations, and more. If the library has access to a full-text journal or newspaper article, OneSearch will try to link there directly.

Google Scholar
Some articles are freely available and some can be accessed through UMA.
JSTOR
Some articles are freely available and others are available through UMA - you can check our JSTOR database.
ProCon.org
The Pros and Cons of controversial issues.
The mission statement at ProCon.org is: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format."
ResearchGate
Google Scholar often finds these articles, too.

There are four specialist repository search engines. There is much overlap between these services, and at present (2019) it is not clear which is best. They are:

BASE (possibly particularly good for material from continental Europe)
CORE
OAIster (via WorldCat)

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects. Over 310 journals can be searched by article title. Most articles are in English. Records for articles in foreign languages have English abstracts.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
more...less...
OpenDOAR has opted to collect and provide information solely on sites that wholly embrace the concept of open access to full text resources that are of use to academic researchers. Thus sites where any form of access control prevents immediate access are not included: likewise sites that consist of metadata records only are also declined.
Scientific Data's Recommended Data Repositories
Repositories included on this page have been evaluated to ensure that they meet our requirements for data access, preservation and stability. Please be aware, however, that some repositories on this page may only accept data from those funded by specific sources, or may charge for hosting data.
Open Access Directory (OAD) Disciplinary repositories
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
more...less...
This is a list of OA disciplinary repositories (also called central or subject repositories). Unless otherwise noted, they accept relevant deposits regardless of the author's institutional affiliation.
This list includes both preprint and postprint repositories.
Some recommended repositories
From Sotheby's Institute of Art Libraries - some (mostly) UK sites.

These browser extension help you located full-text articles online.

Aaron Tay writes about various topics related to librarianship and electronic resources.
"Aaron Tay is currently Library Analytics Manager, Singapore Management University and before that was E-services Facilitator, Senior Librarian at the National University of Singapore Libraries."

Academic related browser extensions : Browser extensions (Scite/Scholarcy)and improvements to Zotero
This has a great introduction to the most popular browser extensions as well as a discussion of the three mentioned in the title of the article.

A comparison of 6 Access Broker browser extensions Lean Library, Kopernio, Anywhere Access, Libkey Nomad & more
This is a great (but long) discussion of browser extensions to find full-text articles.

CINAHL Plus Full Text tutorial
This video provides an overview of searching the CINAHL Plus Full Text database.
CINAHL includes journals on allied health and nursing subjects.

**Click on DATABASES, not Find Articles, on the Libraries' homepage.

OneSearch Tutorial
A tutorial on using the OneSearch tool from UMA Libraries.
OneSearch vs. Google

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

Maine.edu Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.

URSUS Library Login: Library card/student ID/barcode numbers must be current and activated with the library in order for this option to work.

This is an IMAGE ONLY, showing the screen and instructions that will appear when you are using the library online: