Find Articles - ENG 499 - Senior Seminar - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

Contact UMA Libraries

OpenURL Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

Journal Article Databases & Literature Reference Sources

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the fully searchable online versions of Volume 1 to Volume 361 of Gale's print set Dictionary of Literary Biography, including Documentary Series volumes. Also includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbooks from 1980 to 2002. DLB profiles more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, including biographies and the critical response to their works. DLB also includes essays on publishing houses and literary topics. The DLB Documentary Series essays focus on a particular literary period, movement or genre. The Yearbook Series includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Artemis Literary Sources now includes: Twayne's Authors Series - Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Scribner's Writers Series.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
CloudLibrary (eBooks & audiobooks) This link opens in a new window
CloudLibrary is an e-book and e-Audiobook platform. It offers readers over 10,000 digital titles that were already in the Download Library plus new titles and additional copies of popular titles. CloudLibrary offers patrons an app-based user experience that makes it easy to download eBooks and e-Audiobooks. The CloudLibrary app highlights the best and freshest titles in our collection, and also allows for patron customization. Users of Kindle devices should be advised that the Kindle Fire (2nd generation or newer) works with the CloudLibrary, but e-ink Kindles do not.
UMA Databases (A-Z) This link opens in a new window
Click to view UMA Databases Alphabetically

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.