Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once! What is OneSearch?
Subject databases for literature
Books and AuthorsThis link opens in a new windowBooks & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. The ideal convergence of science and serendipity, this online resource leverages the Internet's unique capacity to create, build, communicate and sustain communities of readers.
With an up-to-date and configurable interface, and a unique Open Web component, Books & Authors offers libraries of all kinds a powerful tool that promotes the discovery of literature, and where to find it in your library. Backed by a team of hand-picked genre experts, Books & Authors connects readers with books and provides a number of key functions in your library, including increase circulation of fiction and non-fiction, build and promote book clubs and programs in your library, help patrons make informed reading choices and drives potential and existing patrons to your library database via the Open Web.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the fully searchable online versions of Volume 1 to Volume 361 of Gale's print set Dictionary of Literary Biography, including Documentary Series volumes. Also includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbooks from 1980 to 2002. DLB profiles more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, including biographies and the critical response to their works. DLB also includes essays on publishing houses and literary topics. The DLB Documentary Series essays focus on a particular literary period, movement or genre. The Yearbook Series includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes.
Gale Literary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowGale Artemis Literary Sources now includes: Twayne's Authors Series - Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Scribner's Writers Series.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. JSTOR provides indexing to its Current Scholarship Collection of journals, many of which are available via Article Linker.
The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
CloudLibrary (eBooks & audiobooks)This link opens in a new windowCloudLibrary is an e-book and e-Audiobook platform. It offers readers over 10,000 digital titles that were already in the Download Library plus new titles and additional copies of popular titles. CloudLibrary offers patrons an app-based user experience that makes it easy to download eBooks and e-Audiobooks. The CloudLibrary app highlights the best and freshest titles in our collection, and also allows for patron customization. Users of Kindle devices should be advised that the Kindle Fire (2nd generation or newer) works with the CloudLibrary, but e-ink Kindles do not.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowUsing this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at firstname.lastname@example.org to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.