Special Collections: Public Libraries

Bangor Digital Commons

• Collections

Special Collections

• Bangor Images
• Bangor People Photos *
• Finding Aids  *
• Books and Publications
• Civil War Photos
• Maine Images *
• Brady Gang Documents
• Brady Gang Images

World War Collections

• World War I Posters
• World War II Posters
• Regimental Histories

Maine Memory Network

Maps

Research and Resources

Local History

• Local History
• Fire Department -1911

Staff Contact

Contact library for more information

Access: general public

 * requires  a SelectedWorks or bepress Digital Commons account

China/Ski Collection

A collection of notebooks, photos and documents covers the experiences of John G. Norris and his quest to bring the ski team from China to train at Sugarloaf in the 1970s.

Collection does not circulate 

Additional information or questions call the library 207- 237-3535

Access: general public

• Digital Gallery
• Snowshoes Collection
• Maine History Collection will have Maine before the Dewey Decimal Number

​ Bailey Maine Collection is the location in the library for these books

Access: general public

Enne Amann Collection of Traditional Folk Song- location Performing Arts Amann Collection in the library

Description

A collection donated by a patron of major works relating to folk music in the American and British traditions. A few works relating to American Blues are also included. Both works with songs/words and works describing the tradition are available.

More information contact the library

Does circulate

Access: general public

Genealogy Collection

Access: general public and in use only

Genealogy 

• Family Histories: Dunning Collection
• History Collections:The Bartol Room

Information about the Collections

Access: general public and materials do not circulate

Maine Vertical File library use only

Newspapers online

Bar Harbor Images online 

Mount Desert Island Images online

Northeast Harbor Images online

Contact Kathy Woodside

Access: general public

Local History and Genealogy Collection

Manufacturing and Labor History Collection - handbooks, manuals, ledgers, photographs, maps and histories of manufactures in the Biddeford area, as well as from across the United States and abroad. Many items pertain specifically to Laconia Mills, Pepperell Mills, Saco Water Power Company and the Saco-Lowell Shops. Strong collection of textile manufacturing reference books from the early 20th century

Please note some items are available at the McArthur Public Library, other resources are online and some  are obtained at other information institutions

Some items circulate and some do not so contact the library

Special Collections inquires contact Renee DesRoberts

Access- general public