DigitalMaineThis link opens in a new windowDigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search and read full-text for the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It features content from more than 2,000 newspapers, newswires, and news sites, and represents one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching. This resource replaces now-retired "ProQuest Newspapers."
Regarding Bangor Daily News: Global Newsstream content for the Bangor Daily News has not been available since June 16, 2022! Proquest has attempted to contact them several times without success. As a result, the issue has been escalated higher up in the company. This has happened several times over the last several years, although not to this extent, and BDN will not backfill missing content, so hopefully this will not be the case again.
Please share as needed.
Google News Archive SearchThis link opens in a new windowGoogle News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. Contains a handful of Maine newspapers with content going back to 1800s for some of them and 1908 for BDN.
Maine NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIndex to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
NewsstandThis link opens in a new windowGale Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
New York Times (1980-Current)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowSelect Publication Search Tab and then type in or scroll through alphabetic list to link to the Wall Street Journal.
Index to and full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984.
Washington PostThis link opens in a new windowIndex to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection]This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowExplores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCredo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
General OneFile with InfoTrac CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile is Gale's largest general-interest database, serving as the public library's ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo), many of which are recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. We've included the reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowUsing this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
In Context: High SchoolThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
This resource integrates reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals and more.
In Context: Middle SchoolThis link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle school students, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Research In Context provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints In Context answers the call for a better way to explore today's most hotly debated topics. This next-generation portal delivers a range of perspectives on important issues. Users find a remarkable compilation of proven reference content—including the award-winning Opposing Viewpoints series from Greenhaven Press— integrated with the best multimedia available today. With its scope and depth, Opposing Viewpoints In Context supports virtually any curricular, academic, or general-interest need. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills.
Popular MagazinesThis link opens in a new windowPopular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries."
Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once! What is OneSearch?
If you are looking for information on/from other states, there should be similar information on those states' sites.
Maine Revised StatutesThis link opens in a new windowMaine Revised Statutes current to the [Session Number] Legislature.
Maine Superior Court DecisionsThis link opens in a new windowFull text PDF documents received by the University of Maine School of Law Donald L. Garbrecht Law Library from the clerks of various courts dating from January 2000 through present. Decisions cross referenced by Plaintiff, Defendant, Judge and County. Includes citations and references.
Maine NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIndex to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.
Legislative Record (Maine State Legislature)This link opens in a new windowThis site contains the full scanned text of the proceedings and debate of the Maine State Legislature from the first volume, issued in 1897, to the end of the previous session.
Legislative History (Maine State Legislature)This link opens in a new windowINDIVIDUAL Legislative Histories:
Compiled legislative histories for every Public Law, Private and Special Law, Resolve, Constitutional Resolution, Initiated Bill, Legislative Document, and House or Senate Paper since 1993. Includes links to full-text documents.
TOPICAL Legislative Histories:
Subject-themed legislative histories on popular topics such as amendments to the Maine Constitution, abortion, and term limits. Includes links to full text documents.
Maine Town ReportsThis link opens in a new windowFull text searchable reports from forty-two towns are available. The ongoing project currently represents a range of geographic, cultural and business interests across all sixteen counties in the state. The focus has been on the earliest reports published up through 1950. The Maine Town Reports Digital Project is a collaboration between Fogler Library and the Maine State Library.
Maine Historical Society DatabasesThis link opens in a new windowMaine History, a publication of the Maine Historical Society:
Maine History is the only periodical devoted to scholarship on Maine history. It is published two times a year by the Maine Historical Society in cooperation with the Department of History at the University of Maine. This database contains fully searchable pages from Volumes 9 through 53.1. From this section you can also download and view recent issues of Maine History.
Also in this database:
City of Portland, Record of Naturalization Papers, 1850–1910
Naturalization Petitions of U.S. District Court (Portland, Maine), 1912–1929
Portland Voter Registrations 1891–1902
Town of Deering, Record of Naturalization Papers, 1873–1898
Maine Memory Network
DigitalMaineThis link opens in a new windowDigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Maine Memory NetworkThis link opens in a new windowThe Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 200 organizations from across Maine.
Maine Census DataNumeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present. Special search keys provided include: county/year; town/year; population threshold (maximum or minimum); population trend (increasing or decreasing); and master list of towns. Some annotation is included for boundary changes of minor civil divisions.
A scholarly periodical requires that each article submitted for publication be judged by an independent panel of experts (scholarly or scientific peers). Articles not approved by a majority of these peers are not accepted for publication by the journal. Peer-reviewed articles are generally considered to be scholarly and reliable resources.
Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.
