Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Exploration and Research

This guide provides you with a list of databases, campus services, websites, and more to support your career research. Thanks to Tarleton State University Libraries

Career Exploration Tools

CareerOneStop – career descriptions, job searches, links to training, and other resources
LearningExpress Library – preparation tools for professional certifications, licensing, and graduate school
Mynextmove.org – information about careers by keyword, industry, or interest
Occupation Finder – entry-level requirements, on-the-job training options, projected # of new jobs, projected growth rate, & median pay for 800+
     occupations
O*NET - descriptions of the expertise, skills, abilities, and activities required in a wide variety of professions
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) – detailed profiles of 800+ professions
UMA's Career Connections – Career advising services, internships, job search, workshops, tools, and appointments.
Vault.com – company rankings and reviews, tips and guides, and information about internship programs
Vocational and Career Collection – wide array of trade periodicals for occupation and industry information

Career Services @ UMA

Career Connections at UMA offers resume assistance, mock interviews, job fairs, career counseling, and much more. Visit the Career Connections website to see all their offerings. Use the selected links below to begin exploring possibilities.
    Internships
    Job Search Resources
    Career Exploration

Databases for Company, Industry, and Career Research

Business Collection – business periodicals with articles about job-hunting, interviewing, and more
Business Premium Collection – combines Proquest's most popular business databases to provide a truly comprehensive business research solution. 
Business Economics and Theory – useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic
     models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) – 6-digit code system used to classify businesses into industries. Use NAICS to research a particular industry

MORE: Career Databases

Find book on the shelf

Library of Congress Call Numbers

  • [HF5381 - 5386] Job-hunting. Resumes.
  • [HF5549 - 5549.5] Job interviews.

Privacy and your job search

Digital Dirt (Career Services, Tarleton State University) – video about why job candidates should avoid posting unprofessional online information

Identifying Job Scams – tips from the World Privacy Forum

Online Resumes and Privacy – tips for keeping your resume information private

Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.