Find Articles - COL 123 - Learning & the College Community - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

How to read a scholarly article

Scholarly articles can feel pretty intimidating! The video below will describe the different sections you'll typically find in scholarly articles and what they mean, as well as some strategies for reading a scholarly article to enhance your comprehension (and not spend too much time on articles you don't use).

Below is a list of databases for both general research, as well as more current-events oriented databases on the next tab. While any of these are a good place to get started, they are not the only databases available to you! Feel free to explore our A-Z Databases List on the library website to see all we have to offer.

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
General OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is Gale's largest general-interest database, serving as the public library's ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo), many of which are recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. We've included the reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search and read full-text for the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It features content from more than 2,000 newspapers, newswires, and news sites, and represents one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching. This resource replaces now-retired "ProQuest Newspapers."
Regarding Bangor Daily News: Global Newsstream content for the Bangor Daily News has not been available since June 16, 2022! Proquest has attempted to contact them several times without success. As a result, the issue has been escalated higher up in the company. This has happened several times over the last several years, although not to this extent, and BDN will not backfill missing content, so hopefully this will not be the case again.

Please share as needed.
Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Gale Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
New York Times (1980-Current) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries."
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Select Publication Search Tab and then type in or scroll through alphabetic list to link to the Wall Street Journal.
Index to and full text coverage of the nation's leading business daily from 1984.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.

NPR
National Public Radio is an American non-profit media organization headquartered in Washington, D.C with top stories in the U.S. and world news, politics, health, science, business, music, arts and culture. Nonprofit journalism