Resource Guides: HTY 106: World Civilizations II: 1500-present: HTY 106: World Civilizations II: 1500-present

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Donna Maher

Email Me

Contact:

207-621-3161

Resources

Academic Video Online: History This link opens in a new window History Discipline-specific Titles. Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Swank (Digital Campus) This link opens in a new window Click "Use maine.edu Login" to use.Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters)". Please contact Cynthia Young or Donna Maher to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. Integrates into curriculum through learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.

National Screening Room, Library of Congress The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to:Promote international and intercultural understanding; Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. -- About/Mission page from website viewed November 9,2012
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Search for journals, articles, books, images, and primary sources.

All History-related databases

The GeaCron Project The GeaCron Project is a customizable geo-temporal database for historical research. Use the map to investigate known countries, states, nation states, ethnic groupings, and other named partitions of the geographic world through history.
Old Maps Online Search engine for historical maps.
Mapping Past Societies - formerly Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) "The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds."
Bunting's World Map World design based on Bunting's hometown, in the medieval tradition of placing Jerusalem at the center. About Bunting's map: https://bigthink.com/strange-maps/87-the-whole-world-in-a-cloverleaf
Mapping History "Interactive & animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events" across the globe.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps eg., "Historical Atlas," by William R Shepherd (1923): https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/history_shepherd_1923.html. Digitized images of Shepherd's historical atlas at the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, UT Austin.
Histography Histography is "an interactive timeline that spans across 14 billion years of history, from the Big Bang to 2015. The site draws historical events from Wikipedia and self-updates daily with new recorded events."
MAP of Ancient History Museums "Below you can find a map of museums of ancient history as well as important archaeological sites that you can visit. We're constantly adding to this map, so if you know of a location that should be included, contact us."

JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Metropolitan Museum of Art - 82nd & Fifth
more...less...
Each episode links to related clips and/or interactive pieces, and includes full identification of the curator, the work of art, and its donor(s).
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: Art of the Ancient World Journey back 4,500 years to the Giza plateau in ancient Egypt, where a group of artists and their patrons devised a new way of representing the human body in sculpture. Commanding in presence and sublime in aesthetic, their works represent a pinnacle of artistic innovation. For millennia, the Egyptians looked back on the sculpture of this period as benchmarks to follow.
MAP of Ancient History Museums "Below you can find a map of museums of ancient history as well as important archaeological sites that you can visit. We're constantly adding to this map, so if you know of a location that should be included, contact us."
American Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex. We are a community of learning and the opener of doors. Join us on a voyage of discovery and explore and learn online.
Field Museum: Inside Ancient Egypt The Field Museum fuels a journey of discovery across time to enable solutions for a brighter future rich in nature and culture.

Credo Reference quotation dictionaries

Gardner's Theory of Multiple Intelligences
from Dr. Bernheim
Thinglink Create unique experiences with interactive images, videos & 360° media
UL Lafayette Library 360 virtual tour (Thinglink)
40 Alternative Assessment Ideas for Learning When people think of assessment, pencils and bubble sheets may be the first things that come to mind. Assessment does not always have to involve paper and pencil but can instead be a project, an observation, or a task that shows a student has learned the material. In the end, all we really want to know is that the skill was mastered, right? Why not make it fun and engaging for students as well?
Dipsticks: Efficient Ways to Check for Understanding
Edutopia

Just a few generic ideas:

Website
Research poster
Children's book
Podcast or radio show
Create a pathfinder (Resource Guide) or website of different types of information sources on a topic
Write or create a piece of music, art, or creative writing in a particular style or genre
Video

RESOURCES: OER on the Web

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible, scholarly learning tools made available on the web for education. OER also stands in as a name for the movement of scholars working toward making published knowledge more freely accessible without sacrificing quality or academic rigor. Some OER in World History, Ancient History, and History are: