Resource Guides: Education: Standards and Assessment

Learning Experience Librarian

Veronica Nargi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Katz Library
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME

207-621-3309

Contact UMA Libraries

Standards in education

Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC-education (IES) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides 1.6 million education resources including journal articles, research reports, fact sheets, conference papers, books, and other non-journal materials. Most are peer-reviewed. Many are full text or linked to full text. Managed by the Institute of Education Sciences.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text, published by H.W. Wilson, provides high-quality indexing and abstracts for an international range of English-language education journals, books, and yearbooks. More than 725 Journals are indexed, cover to cover, going back to 1983. Full text articles are provided for over 350 journals going back to 1996. ArticleLinker connects to additional full-text articles and points to library holdings in print and microform.
Teaching Channel This link opens in a new window
The Teaching Channel’s 1,400+ video library gives students a look into diverse classrooms all over the world. All videos have been carefully vetted by content experts to ensure they showcase current techniques, model best teaching practices, and provide immediate ideas to support student learning. Videos can be sorted by grade-level, subject area, or topic.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center is an index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, offered free by EBSCO. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more, for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Maine resources

ME Dept of Education Standards
This page has links to subject areas. Not all subject areas have standards listed.
Maine - Next Generation Science Standards

National resources

ISTE Standards The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards are a framework for students, educators, administrators, coaches and computer science educators to rethink education and create innovative learning environments. The standards are helping educators and education leaders worldwide re-engineer schools and classrooms for digital age learning, no matter where they are on the journey to effective edtech integration.
CAEP
Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Preparation standards
Common Core State Standards Initiative Read the Standards: Building on the best of existing state standards, the Common Core State Standards provide clear and consistent learning goals to help prepare students for college, career, and life. The standards clearly demonstrate what students are expected to learn at each grade level, so that every parent and teacher can understand and support their learning.
Maine Standards - Common Core State Standards This seems to be a site devoted to providing worksheets and aids for purchase. However, this may give some information.

The Common Core is a set of high-quality academic standards in mathematics and English language arts/literacy (ELA). These learning goals outline what a student should know and be able to do at the end of each grade. The standards were created to ensure that all students graduate from high school with the skills and knowledge necessary to succeed in college, career, and life, regardless of where they live. Forty-one states, the District of Columbia, four territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) have voluntarily adopted and are moving forward with the Common Core.

National Council of Teachers of English
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics A comprehensive and coherent set of mathematics standards for each and every student from prekindergarten through grade 12, Principles and Standards is the first set of rigorous, college and career readiness standards for the 21st century. Must have a membership to view standards, but there are other resources on this page.
Common Core State Standards for Mathematics
National Council for the Social Studies
Be sure to check out the entire site for many resources, including "National Standards for the Preparation of Social Studies Teachers," "College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework for Social Studies State Standards," and the "Performance-Based Assessment Clearinghouse."
Next Generation Science Standards
from the National Science Teachers Association
National Core Arts Standards
Dance, Media Arts, Music, Theatre And Visual Arts
Be sure to check out the professional associations for each area as well.

Large-Scale Assessments in Education The articles presented in Large-Scale Assessments in Education contribute to progress in the science of large-scale assessments, help disseminate state-of-the-art information about empirical research using these databases and make the results available to policy makers and researchers around the world. Large-Scale Assessments in Education is a joint publication of the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA) and Educational Testing Service (ETS).
The Science Teacher
Journal on science education.
The Reading Teacher
Journal for reading teachers of elementary students.
The Elementary School Journal A professional journal relating social science research in elementary education theory and the classroom. Covers a wide range of topics, including effective schools, school reform, process writing, parent involvement, and classroom teaching methods.
Teaching Children Mathematics Journal covering mathematics content and methods for pre-service and in-service teachers of grades pre-kindergarten through 6th.
Education A professional journal presenting studies and theoretical papers on all areas of teaching and learning in both school and university settings. Issues focus on school psychology, the prevention of delinquency through high school programs, curriculum, instructional procedures, and practices in education.

Needs Assessment: Trends and a View Toward the Future by James W. Altschuld (Editor); Ryan Watkins (Editor) Explore multiple practical and theoretical dimensions of needs assessment.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119027713
Publication Date: 2014-12-24