Resource Guides: Education: Find Articles

Learning Experience Librarian

Veronica Nargi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Katz Library
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME

207-621-3309

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

We're busy updating this information for our new system. Check back soon!

Contact UMA Libraries

Article Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL

NCTE Journals

American Educational Research Journal The American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) is the flagship journal of AERA, with articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning. It publishes original peer-reviewed analyses spanning the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis, all levels of education throughout the life span and all forms of learning.Submissions reflect the highest quality in a wide range of perspectives, topics, contexts, and methods.
College composition and communication College Composition and Communication publishes research and scholarship in rhetoric and composition studies that supports college teachers in reflecting on and improving their practices in teaching writing and that reflects the most current scholarship and theory in the field. The field of composition studies draws on research and theories from a broad range of humanistic disciplines—English studies, rhetoric, cultural studies, LGBT studies, gender studies, critical theory, education, technology studies, race studies, communication, philosophy of language, anthropology, sociology, and others—and from within composition and rhetoric studies, where a number of subfields have also developed, such as technical communication, computers and composition, writing across the curriculum, research practices, and the history of these fields.
College English College English is the professional journal for the college scholar-teacher. CE publishes articles about literature, rhetoric-composition, critical theory, creative writing theory and pedagogy, linguistics, literacy, reading theory, pedagogy, and professional issues related to the teaching of English. Each issue also includes opinion pieces, review essays, and letters from readers. Contributions may work across traditional field boundaries; authors represent the full range of institutional types. (Published September, November, January, March, May, and July)
Educational Leadership
Use the "Journal Finder" to locate this journal and use that search box. The search box on the "Educational Leadership" main page is not working for us.
more...less...
Curriculum Planning & Development; Educational Administration
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
English education English Education is the journal of the Conference on English Education (CEE), a constituent organization of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). The journal serves teachers engaged in the preparation, support, and continuing education of teachers of English language arts/literacy at all levels of instruction. (Published October, January, April, and July.) Not a subscriber? Click here to subscribe now!
English journal English Journal is NCTE’s award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are applying practices, research, and multimodal literacies in their classrooms. (Published September, November, January, March, May, and July.)
English leadership quarterly English Leadership Quarterly, a publication of the Conference on English Leadership (CEL), helps department chairs, K–12 supervisors, and other leaders in their role of improving the quality of literacy instruction. ELQ offers short articles on a variety of issues important to decision-makers in English language arts. (Published August, October, February, and April)
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education Welcome to the Journal for Research in Mathematics Education An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
more...less...
JRME is a forum for disciplined inquiry into the teaching and learning of mathematics. The editors encourage submissions including:

Research reports, addressing important research questions and issues in mathematics education,
Brief reports of research,
Research commentaries on issues pertaining to mathematics education research,
and
Book reviews.
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy The Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy highlights innovative, peer-reviewed, research-based practices aimed at improving engagement and achievement among literacy learners ages 12 and older.
Journal of Early Intervention The Journal of Early Intervention (JEI) offers articles related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families. Early intervention is broadly defined as procedures that facilitate the development of infants and young children who have special needs or who are at risk for developmental disabilities. Key features include research, reviews, policy analyses, and conceptual papers. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions (JPBI) offers sound, research-based principles of positive behavior support for use in school, home and community settings with people with challenges in behavioral adaptation. Regular features include empirical research; discussion, literature reviews, and conceptual papers; programs, practices, and innovations; forum; and media reviews. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Language arts Language Arts provides a forum for discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade. Issues discuss both theory and classroom practice, highlight current research, and review children’s and young adolescent literature, as well as classroom and professional materials of interest to language arts educators. (Published September, November, January, March, May, and July)
Mathematics Teacher Educator Mathematics Teacher Educator contributes to building a professional knowledge base for mathematics teacher educators that stems from, develops, and strengthens practitioner knowledge. The journal provides a means for practitioner knowledge related to the preparation and support of teachers of mathematics to be not only public, shared, and stored, but also verified and improved over time (Hiebert, Gallimore, and Stigler 2002).
Research in the Teaching of English Research in the Teaching of English (RTE) is a broad-based, multidisciplinary journal composed of original research articles and short scholarly essays on a wide range of topics significant to those concerned with the teaching and learning of languages and literacies around the world, both in and beyond schools and universities. RTE is the flagship research journal of NCTE.
Rethinking Schools
Use the "Journal Finder" to locate this journal and use that search box. The search box on the "Rethinking Schools" main page is not working for us.
more...less...
Rethinking Schools began as a local effort to address problems such as basal readers, standardized testing, and textbook-dominated curriculum. Since its founding, it has grown into a nationally prominent publisher of educational materials, with subscribers in all 50 states, all 10 Canadian provinces, and many other countries.

While the scope and influence of Rethinking Schools has changed, its basic orientation has not. Most importantly, it remains firmly committed to equity and to the vision that public education is central to the creation of a humane, caring, multiracial democracy. While writing for a broad audience, Rethinking Schools emphasizes problems facing urban schools, particularly issues of race.
Social Education Social Education, our flagship journal, contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas. The award-winning resources include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines. Departments include Looking at the Law, Surfing the Net, and Teaching with Documents. Social Education is published 6 times per year: September; October; November/December; January/February; March/April; and May/June.
Social Studies & the Young Learner The goal of Social Studies and the Young Learner is to capture and enthuse elementary teachers across the country by providing relevant and useful information about the teaching of social studies to elementary students.The teaching techniques presented are designed to stimulate the reading, writing, and critical thinking skills vital to classroom success. SSYL is published quarterly: September/October; November/December; January/February; and March/April.
Talking Points Talking Points provides a forum for parents, classroom teachers, and researchers to reflect about literacy and learning. Talking Points is published by LLA, Literacies and Languages for All, a conference of NCTE. Talking Points helps promote literacy research and the use of whole language instruction in classrooms. It provides a forum for parents, classroom teachers, and researchers to reflect about literacy and learning. (Published semiannually, October and May.)
Teaching English in the two year college TETYC is for instructors of English in two-year colleges as well as for teachers of first- and second-year composition in four-year institutions.
more...less...
Teaching English in the Two-Year College (TETYC), the journal of the Two-Year College English Association (TYCA), is for instructors of English studies in the two-year college. TETYC publishes theoretical and practical articles across the range of English studies at the two-year college, including composition and rhetoric, developmental education, technical and business communication, reading and literacy, literature, creative writing, language, dual and concurrent enrollment, as well as professional issues. Published in September, December, March, and May.
Voices from the Middle Voices from the Middle publishes original contributions by middle level teachers, students, teacher educators, and researchers in response to specific themes that focus on our discipline, our teaching, and our students. Voices offers middle level teachers innovative and practical ideas for classroom use that are rooted in current research; this is a journal for teachers by teachers. (Published September, December, March, and May)
Young Exceptional Children Young Exceptional Children (YEC) is written for teachers, early care and education personnel, educational administrators, therapists, families and others who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are at risk for future developmental problems. It offers useful, friendly articles that help readers implement research-based strategies and interventions across many settings. This journal is a member of COPE.

Journal Article Databases & Education Reference Sources

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is updated daily and provides news, information, and job listings for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the text from the current print edition, posted every Monday morning; commentary and essays from the weekly magazine, The Chronicle Review; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; a searchable archive of every issue published since September 1989; slide shows, podcasts, and video; discussion forums; data from the annual Almanac of Higher Education and other reports; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text, published by H.W. Wilson, provides high-quality indexing and abstracts for an international range of English-language education journals, books, and yearbooks. More than 725 Journals are indexed, cover to cover, going back to 1983. Full text articles are provided for over 350 journals going back to 1996. ArticleLinker connects to additional full-text articles and points to library holdings in print and microform.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
CloudLibrary (eBooks & audiobooks) This link opens in a new window
CloudLibrary is an e-book and e-Audiobook platform. It offers readers over 10,000 digital titles that were already in the Download Library plus new titles and additional copies of popular titles. CloudLibrary offers patrons an app-based user experience that makes it easy to download eBooks and e-Audiobooks. The CloudLibrary app highlights the best and freshest titles in our collection, and also allows for patron customization. Users of Kindle devices should be advised that the Kindle Fire (2nd generation or newer) works with the CloudLibrary, but e-ink Kindles do not.
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
Data on education, pre-kindergarten through higher education, provided by the US Dept. of Education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center is an index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, offered free by EBSCO. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more, for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
UMA Databases (A-Z) This link opens in a new window
Click to view UMA Databases Alphabetically

How to read scholarly articles

How to read scholarly articles
"While books are undoubtedly fabulous resources, you will find shorter, specific, scholarly works in academic journals. Essays in academic journals are essentially reports that scholars write to their peers—present and future—about what they’ve done in their research, what they’ve found, and why they think it’s important. Thus, in a lot of fields they often have a structure reminiscent of the lab reports you’ve written for science classes"

How to read a scholarly article