Academic OneFile with InfoTrac CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowHistorical Statistics of the United States is a 2006 Cambridge University Press publication and database that updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. The University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, III, VII, VIII, and selected e-books.
New York Times (1980-Current)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search and read full-text for the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It features content from more than 2,000 newspapers, newswires, and news sites, and represents one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching. This resource replaces now-retired "ProQuest Newspapers."
Regarding Bangor Daily News: Global Newsstream content for the Bangor Daily News has not been available since June 16, 2022! Proquest has attempted to contact them several times without success. As a result, the issue has been escalated higher up in the company. This has happened several times over the last several years, although not to this extent, and BDN will not backfill missing content, so hopefully this will not be the case again.
Please share as needed.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
British Library NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowBritish Newspapers, 1780 -1950 is a digital historic newspaper archive. It cross-searches and provides full-text access to national & regional papers from the British Isles in the following Gale collections: 19th century British Library Newspapers, Parts 1 and 2; and British Newspapers,1780-1950, Parts 3 and 4.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowEighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text digital access to nearly every monograph published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, more than 32 million pages of text in over 182,000 titles. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), ECCO includes a wide variety of materials: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Alternate Title: ECCO
European Views of the AmericasThis link opens in a new windowThis is an index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Nineteenth Century British Library NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowDeveloped in partnership with the British Library and JISC, 19th Century British Library Newspapers (Parts 1 and 2) and British Newspapers, Part 3: 1780-1950 offer full runs of national, regional and local British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The content includes 60 titles, totaling approximately 3.2 million pages, selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published. The collection has daily and weekly papers with a focus on London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism.
Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersThis link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Burney Newspapers Collection (17th-18th Century)This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
Alternate Title: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digital publishing program from Gale focusing on primary source collections. It includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.
Alternate Title: NCCO
Palmer CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe William P. Palmer III Collection of archaeological material from Mexico and Central America and ethnographic holdings from the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada is the Hudson Museum's pre-eminent collection. The Palmer Collection features an internationally significant assemblage of 2,828 Precolumbian ceramics, lithics and gold work dating from 2000 BC to the Spanish Conquest. In addition to its Precolumbian component, the collection includes over 200 objects from the Northwest Coast that date to the heyday of Northwest Coast collecting, 1875-1930. (More about the collection: http://library.umaine.edu/hudson/palmer/about.asp ).
World Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to:Promote international and intercultural understanding; Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries. -- About/Mission page from website viewed November 9,2012
Ancestry LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition is a history and genealogy resource that includes more than 7,000 databases with billions of historical records on individuals, families, and places. Sources include censuses, vital records (birth, death, marriage), immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, and maps. Countries for which data is available include the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, China, and many more. Note: some sources and some functionality available via a personal subscription to AncestryPlus are not available in the Ancestry Library Edition. Publisher permissions allow in-building use of Ancestry at Maine public libraries that have registered for access, as well as authenticated access for Maine college and university libraries via their web sites.
MyHeritage (Library Edition)This link opens in a new windowMyHeritage is the leading global destination for discovering, preserving and sharing family history. Our powerful technology does the searching for you, revealing fascinating new details about your family history — effortlessly.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowUsing this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.
