LibrarySearch uses a single search box to search most of the library’s electronic and print collections: articles, books, DVDs, and more.
The Art and Science of Mindfulness by
Intention is fundamental to any project, endeavor, or journey. Related to intention is the concept of mindfulness -- the awareness that arises through intentionally attending to oneself and others in an open, caring, and nonjudgmental way. Authors Shapiro and Carlson draw from Eastern wisdom and practices as well as Western psychological theory and science to explore why mindful awareness is integral to the therapeutic healing process and to show clinicians how to connect with this deeper awareness. This second edition is an accessible discussion of the fundamentals and also contains new sections describing the latest research on the neuroscience of mindfulness and mechanisms of change. Integrating the art and science of mindfulness to inspire greater well-being in both clinicians and their patients, this volume bridges a gap between therapist and patient, reminding us that we are all human beings wanting health, happiness, and freedom from suffering.
Mindfulness for Beginners by
An Invitation to the Practice of Mindfulness We may long for wholeness, suggests Jon Kabat-Zinn, but the truth is that it is already here and already ours. The practice of mindfulness holds the possibility of not just a fleeting sense of contentment, but a true embracing of a deeper unity that envelops and permeates our lives. With Mindfulness for Beginners you are invited to learn how to transform your relationship to the way you think, feel, love, work, and play--and thereby awaken to and embody more completely who you really are. Here, the teacher, scientist, and clinician who first demonstrated the benefits of mindfulness within mainstream Western medicine offers a book that you can use in three unique ways: as a collection of reflections and practices to be opened and explored at random; as an illuminating and engaging start-to-finish read; or as an unfolding "lesson-a-day" primer on mindfulness practice. Beginning and long-time meditators alike will discover in these pages a valuable distillation of the key attitudes and essential practices that Jon Kabat-Zinn has found most useful with his students, including: * Why heartfulness is synonymous with true mindfulness * The value of coming back to our bodies and to our senses over and over again * How our thoughts "self-liberate" when touched by awareness * Moving beyond our "story" into direct experience * Stabilizing our attention and presence amidst daily activities * Three fundamental mental factors that cause suffering * How mindfulness heals, even after the fact *Reclaiming our wholeness, and more The prescription for living a more mindful life seems simple enough: return your awareness again and again to whatever is going on. But if you've tried it, you know that here is where all the questions and challenges really begin. Mindfulness for Beginners provides welcome answers, insights, and instruction to help us make that shift, moment by moment, into a more spacious, clear, reliable, and loving connection with ourselves and the world.Includes a complete CD with five guided mindfulness meditations by Jon Kabat-Zinn, selected from the audio program that inspired this book.
Empathy Fatigue by
Many mental health practitioners present symptoms that are consistent with their clients' anxiety and stress-related disorders. It comes as no surprise, then, that "counselor impairment" - the stress that comes from treating survivors of traumatic events - is now officially recognized by the American Counseling Associations' Task Force on Counselor Wellness. Empathy Fatigue" is a term coined by the author after his own experience serving on the crisis response team for the Westside Middle School shootings in Jonesboro, Arkansas. Remarkably, symptoms of empathy fatigue are evident amongst a broad range of professionals: those who treat victims of stressful and traumatic events; those who treat persons with abuse, mood, anxiety, and stress-related disorders; as well as those who work in career and vocational settings or with people with mental and physical disabilities. This guide is also meant for all these groups. This book provides a repertoire of strategies, techniques, and insight designed to increase personal resiliency and decrease counselor burnout and fatigue: Self-assessment approaches, with an in-depth analysis of empathy fatigue and an explanation of this phenomenon from a mind, body, and spiritual perspective. Detailed case studies and suggested questions for self-assessments and self-care. A variety of self-care approaches, providing guidelines to counselors and clinicians to identify their own emotional, physical, and mental exhaustion. ."
Patient Practitioner Interaction by
One of the most recognized and respected texts in rehabilitation for nearly two decades, Patient Practitioner Interaction: An Experiential Manual for Developing the Art of Health Care has been updated into a substantial fourth edition that includes the latest information on the relationship between the patient and the practitioner. Dr. Carol Davis, along with contributions from three of today's leaders, has written this fourth edition to assist health care professionals in learning about themselves. Patient Practitioner Interaction is filled with information designed to help improve personal interaction and communication skills, specifically when dealing with difficult circumstances. Students and professionals are instructed on the finer points of how to learn about the patients with whom they will come in contact as well as the challenges of interacting with therapeutic presence in the ever-changing world of health care under demanding circumstances. Patient Practitioner Interaction, Fourth Edition offers students and professionals a chance to explore self-awareness and how their communication patterns and values were originally developed. This practical and user-friendly resource encourages the use of reflection and problem solving skills to achieve professional maturation and explains how the nature of their own decisions and values affects their attitudes and actions toward others. The updated fourth edition of Patient Practitioner Interaction, by Dr. Carol Davis, will guide health care professionals to promote the healing process in patients and their loved ones through sensitivity and improved communication. This renowned text is a proven essential and belongs on the bookshelf and in the minds of every physical therapy student and health care professional. New to this Fourth Edition:Cultural awareness and sensitivity material is expanded to include results of work done with physical therapy and medical students. Ethical dilemmas that reflect unrealistic demands on the part of institutions and managed care. Exercises at the end of each chapter assist the students to personalize and interact with the content. New material on calming hostile patients and visitors. Contemporary examples and updated vignettes to reflect modern-day practice. Updated chapters that reflect current theory and practice. Special Features: Workbook format with space for reflection and interaction. Thought-provoking, realistic case studies to better illustrate concepts and situations and to help develop solutions for difficult and stressful situations. Includes the Feeling Wheel, which offers a framework that delineates and identifies the six basic feelings.
Relaxation Techniques by
The updated edition of Relaxation Techniques provides the health care professional with an introduction to 17 different relaxation techniques that can contribute to patient care. Each technique is easy to teach and use, and has been demonstrated to be effective in a clinical situation. The background theory to each method is also described and its rationale spelled out. This helps the clinician to select the appropriate technique. All the methods included are suitable for use with small groups or individuals.
Mindfulness for Beginners by
We may long for wholeness, suggests Jon Kabat-Zinn, but the truth is that it is already here and already ours. The practice of mindfulness holds the possibility of not just a fleeting sense of contentment, but a true embracing of a deeper unity that envelops and permeates our lives. With Mindfulness for Beginners you are invited to learn how to transform your relationship to the way you think, feel, love, work, and play--and thereby awaken to and embody more completely who you really are. Here, the teacher, scientist, and clinician who first demonstrated the benefits of mindfulness within mainstream Western medicine offers a book that you can use in three unique ways: as a collection of reflections and practices to be opened and explored at random; as an illuminating and engaging start-to-finish read; or as an unfolding "lesson- a-day" primer on mindfulness practice. Beginning and advanced meditators alike will discover in these pages a valuable distillation of the key attitudes and essential practices that Jon Kabat-Zinn has found most useful with his students, including: Why heartfulness is synonymous with true mindfulness The value of coming back to our bodies and to our senses over and over again How our thoughts "self-liberate" when touched by awareness Moving beyond our "story" into direct experience Stabilizing our attention and presence amidst daily activities The three poisons that cause suffering--and their antidotes How mindfulness heals, even after the fact Reclaiming our wholeness, and more The prescription for living a more mindful life seems simple enough: return your awareness again and again to whatever is going on. But if you''ve tried it, you know that here is where all the questions and challenges really begin. Mindfulness for Beginners provides welcome answers, insights, and instruction to help us make that shift, moment by moment, into a more spacious, clear, reliable, and loving connection with ourselves and the world. Includes a complete CD with five guided mindfulness meditations by Jon Kabat-Zinn, selected from the audio program that inspired this book. Contents Part I Entering Beginner''s Mind The Breath Who Is Breathing? The Hardest Work in the World Taking Care of This Moment Mindfulness Is Awareness Doing Mode and Being Mode A Grounding in Science Mindfulness is Universal Wakefulness Stabilizing and Calibrating Your Instrument Inhabiting Awareness Is the Essence of Practice The Beauty of Discipline Adjusting Your Default Setting Awareness: Our Only Capacity Robust Enough to Balance Thinking Attention and Awareness Are Trainable Skills Nothing Wrong with Thinking Befriending Our Thinking Images of Your Mind That Might Be Useful Not Taking Our Thoughts Personally Selfing Our Love Affair with Personal Pronouns--Especially I, Me, and Mine Awareness Is a Big Container The Objects of Attention Are Not as Important as the Attending Itself Part II: Sustaining Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction A World-Wide Phenomenon An Affectionate Attention Mindfulness Brought to All the Senses Proprioception and Interoception The Unity of Awareness The Knowing Is Awareness Life Itself Becomes the Meditation Practice You Already Belong Right Beneath Our Noses Mindfulness is Not Merely a Good Idea To Come Back in Touch Who Am I? Questioning Our Own Narrative You Are More Than Any Narrative You Are Never Not Whole Paying Attention in a Different Way Not Knowing The Prepared Mind What Is Yours to See? Part III: Deepening No Place to Go, Nothing to Do The Doing That Comes Out of Being To Act Appropriately If You Are Aware of What Is Happening, You Are Doing It Right Non-Judging Is an Act of Intelligence and Kindness You Can Only Be Yourself--Thank Goodness! Embodied Knowing Feeling Joy for Others The Full Catastrophe Is My Awareness of Suffering Suffering? What Does Liberation from Suffering Mean? Hell Realms Liberation Is in the Practice Itself The Beauty of the Mind That Knows Itself Taking Care of Your Meditation Practice Energy Conservation in Meditation Practice An Attitude of Non-Harming Greed: The Cascade of Dissatisfactions Aversion: The Flip Side of Greed Delusion and the Trap of Self-Fulfilling Prophecies Now Is Always the Right Time The "Curriculum" is "Just This" Giving Your Life Back to Yourself Bringing Mindfulness Further Into the World Part IV: Ripening The Attitudinal Foundations of Mindfulness Practice Non-Judging Patience Beginner''s Mind Trust Non-Striving Acceptance Letting Go Part V: Practicing Getting Started with Formal Practice Mindfulness of Eating Mindfulness of Breathing Mindfulness of the Body as a Whole Mindfulness of Sounds, Thoughts, and Emotions Mindfulness as Pure Awareness
Art and Science of Mindfulness by
Intention is fundamental to any project, endeavor, or journey. Related to intention is the concept of mindfulness - the awareness that arises through intentionally attending to oneself and others in an open, caring, and nonjudgmental way. Drawing from Buddhist teachings and psychological theory, authors Shapiro and Carlson explore why mindful awareness is integral to the therapeutic healing process and show clinicians how to connect with this deeper awareness. This book integrates the art and science of mindfulness to engender greater well-being in both clinicians and their patients. Seen through the lens of mindfulness as a universal human capacity, this intention helps bridge the gap between therapist and patient, reminding us that we are all human beings wanting health, happiness, and freedom from suffering. This book is suitable for clinical psychologists, psychotherapists, counselors, and social workers. It is intended for health care practitioners such as nurses, physicians, and physical therapists. It is also suitable for graduate students in all of the above areas.
Mindfulness and the Therapeutic Relationship by
A number of books have explored the ways psychotherapy clients can benefit from learning and practicing mindfulness. This is the first volume to focus specifically on how mindfulness can deepen the therapeutic relationship. Grounded in research, chapters demonstrate how therapists' own mindfulness practice can help them to listen more attentively and be more fully present. Leading proponents of different treatment approaches--including behavioral, psychodynamic, and family systems perspectives--illustrate a variety of ways that mindfulness principles can complement standard techniques and improve outcomes by strengthening the connection between therapist and client. Also presented are practical strategies for integrating mindfulness into clinical training.
250 Brief, Creative & Practical Art Therapy Techniques by
When a client walks into the therapy room they don't know what to expect-feeling anxious, unsure and perhaps fearful. Brief, art therapy warm-ups are the perfect way to break the ice and get clients feeling comfortable, less inhibited, and motivated to participate in individual or group therapy. These unique 250 art exercises increase self-esteem, self-awareness and a feeling of success in artistic expression and communication, allowing clients to engage in therapeutic exercises without judgment. Using simple materials like paper, pencils and markers, these techniques can be immediately implemented in your practice. Art techniques based in: Mindfulness CBT Self-Compassion Useful for clients dealing with: Anxiety Stress Low self-esteem Relationship issues Life changes "
Handbook of Mindfulness by
An authoritative handbook, this volume offers both a comprehensive review of the current science of mindfulness and a guide to its ongoing evolution. Leading scholars explore mindfulness in the context of contemporary psychological theories of attention, perceptual processing, motivation, and behavior, as well as within a rich cross-disciplinary dialogue with the contemplative traditions. After surveying basic research from neurobiological, cognitive, emotional/affective, and interpersonal perspectives, the book delves into applications of mindfulness practice in healthy and clinical populations, reviewing a growing evidence base. Examined are interventions for behavioral and emotion dysregulation disorders, depression, anxiety, and addictions, and for physical health conditions.
The Mindfulness by
"The Mindfulness Workbook" guides readers through ten exercises that enable them to experience mindfulness for themselves, not as a distant experience of enlightenment, but as a practical, attainable state from which they can see their lives more clearly. This book is the perfect resource for anyone who would like to put mindfulness to work in their lives right away to gain perspective and achieve calm. The book guides readers through the experience of spaciousness, thought watching, the CenterPoint[copyright] breathing process, mindful eating, and six other experiences that help readers understand mindfulness on a deeply personal level and fully incorporate its tenets into their lives.
Say What You Mean by
Communication is hard. Here's a proven method that makes it not only considerably easier, but also much more effective for people on both sides of the conversation. Oren Sofer's method for effective communication is a unique combination of mindfulness with the modality called nonviolent communication (NVC), a method popular since the 1960s that is based on the belief that all human beings have the capacity for compassion and resort to violence or behavior that harms others only when they don't recognize more effective strategies for meeting needs. NVC provides those peaceful strategies. Oren's unique method for fostering peaceful--and effective--communication has three "steps" or components- (1) presence- bringing mindful awareness to the interaction, (2) intention- clarifying and setting a goal for the interaction, and (3) attention- learning to really hear and understand in a way that enables you to navigate the difficulties, express yourself clearly, and listen like it really matters--which it most certainly does. The steps are accompanied by many practical exercises, and in the course of this three-part training, readers will learn how to apply these skills to personal and social relationships with romantic partners, friends, colleagues, and family.
Communication from the Inside Out by
Activities and case studies focus on self-awareness, self-confidence, self-reflection, the analysis of communication skills, and sensitivity to the needs of others. Ideas and suggestions show how to develop skills in desired areas. Each chapter includes research evidence related to the topic, along with professionally relevant anecdotes and examples of skill application. The text has been purposefully written in an engaging, conversational style to promote participation and enjoyment. Suggestions for self assessment and reflection ("field notes") enable readers to chart the development of their communication skills as they progress through the book. Clinical Scenarios encourage discussions on the implications of various communication challenges which may arise in practice, with guided questions at the end of each scenario to help readers to apply effective communication approaches. Talking Points provide ideas for activities to help your students assimilate what they have just learned. Case Scenarios featuring Champ (Communication Hero and Master Professional) and Blockhead (Big Lack of Communication Knowledge Has Everyone Avoiding Dialogue) use a lighthearted approach to portray effective and ineffective approaches to communication. Each chapter ends with Chapter Summaries, Implications for Practice (Key Concepts) and a Take-Home Menu which offers suggestions and activities for further learning.
Therapeutic Nursing by
'I found the book to be fascinating and so thought provoking that it made me consider more carefully the text and prose to really understand what the author said. It is skilfully written, very readable and has implications for a wide range of people such as the undergraduate, practitioner, lecturer and researcher' Accident and Emergency Nursing Gaining self-awareness is a vital aspect of professional development for all who work in the caring professions. In nursing especially, the ability to evaluate oneself affects all areas of practice, including direct patient care, working relationships with colleagues and maintaining one's own well-being in the often pressured environment of health care. This is an innovative text which explores the ways in which self-awareness can be used as a practical tool for continuing professional development and practice improvement. Divided into three parts, the book examines the role of the nurse as therapeutic practitioner, reflective learner and reflexive researcher. For all those wishing to develop their skills as autonomous, reflective, accountable practitioners, this book will be an inspiring read. It will be of immense use to those who teach and supervise nurses at all levels.
Handbook of Ethical Foundations of Mindfulness by
This handbook explores the multifaceted ethical dimensions of mindfulness, from early Buddhist sources to present-day Western interpretations of mindfulness. It takes a modern ethical approach to the study of mindfulness, and traces contemporary mindfulness practice from solitary journey to the global whole. Noted practitioners, teachers, scholars, and other professionals lend diverse perspectives to the debate over the moral content of mindfulness and its status as religious, secular, or post-secular practice. Chapters offer new views on the roots of mindfulness in Buddhist moral teachings, ethical mindfulness in interpersonal relationships, and the necessity of ethics in mindfulness-based education and therapy. Chapters also discuss current debates concerning the ethics of mindfulness across the applied fields of education and pedagogy, business, economics, and the environment. Topics featured in this handbook include: · Mindfulness as the true foundation of a naturally ethical life. · Mindfulness and its impact on emotional life, interpersonal relationships, and forgiveness. · How Buddhist ethics informs spiritual practice across the three main vehicles (yanas) of Buddhism and its relation to mindfulness. · "McMindfulness", or the mass marketization and commodification of mindfulness-based interventions (MBIs). · How an ethic of interdependence formed by Buddhist principles and mindfulness practices can help address the environmental crisis. The Handbook of Ethical Foundations of Mindfulness is a must-have resource for researchers, clinicians/professionals, and graduate students in psychology, complementary and alternative medicine, and social work as well as occupational and rehabilitation therapy, nursing, philosophy, business management, and teachers of Buddhism and meditation.
Arts Activities for Children and Young People in Need by
Art-based activities can develop resilience and self-esteem, enabling children in need to cope better with ongoing stress and loss. Arts Activities for Children and Young People in Need offers interventions and exercises drawn from practice and research, for practitioners to use as a basis for their own arts-based groups or one-to-one sessions. Holistic arts activities facilitate a spiritually sensitive approach. Mindfulness-based exercises underpin the approach, and include guided meditations in which a group imagines that they are clouds, or draw feelings and emotions while listening to music, to encourage awareness of the senses. The activities help the group to relax and become more self-aware, encourage an exploration of feelings, values and understanding and are beneficial for children not ready to embrace traditional therapies or counselling. This book is accessible and suitable for helping, health and education practitioners and students from a variety of disciplines, such as social work, psychology and counselling.
Everyday Creativity and the Healthy Mind by
As human beings we all have creative potential, a quality essential to human development and a vital component to healthy and happy lives. However this may often remain stifled by the choices we make, or ways in which we choose to live in our daily lives. Framed by the "Four Ps of Creativity" - product, person, process, press - this book offers an alternative understanding of the fundamentals of ordinary creativity. Ruth Richards highlights the importance of "process", circumventing our common preoccupation with the product, or creative outcome, of creativity. By focusing instead on the creator and the creative process, she demonstrates how we may enhance our relationships with life, beauty, future possibilities, and one another. This book illustrates how our daily life styles and choices, as well as our environments, may enable and allow creativity; whereas environments not conducive to creative flow may kill creative potential. Also explored are questions of 'normality', beauty and nuance in creativity, as well as creative relationships.
Mindfulness and Meditation for Adolescents by
This book describes mindfulness and meditation practices and programs for adolescents by situating the topic in a bio-psychosocial-cultural approach. Using this framework, the benefits of these practices and programs for adolescents-- with an emphasis on evidence-based practices--are explored. In addition to programs based on mindfulness, meditation programs using Transcendental Meditation, Herbert Benson's Relaxation Response, and the Center for Mind Body Medicine's group programs are discussed. The book is targeted toward educators, mental health professionals, researchers, and graduate students interested in the application, development, and study of mindfulness and meditation practices and programs for adolescents.
Mindfulness and Educating Citizens for Everyday Life by
Mindfulness and Educating Citizens for Everyday Life invites readers to explore the role mindfulness can play in mediating how we enact social life in today's increasingly challenging and challenged world. The educators and researchers who have contributed to this book use mindfulness as a lens to address and untangle what is becoming a profoundly complicated way of being within the reality of global capitalism.
Handbook of Mindfulness by
This handbook explores mindfulness philosophy and practice as it functions in today's socioeconomic, cultural, and political landscape. Chapters discuss the many ways in which classic concepts and practices of mindfulness clash, converge, and influence modern theories and methods, and vice versa. Experts across many disciplines address the secularization and commercialization of Buddhist concepts, the medicalizing of mindfulness in therapies, and progressive uses of mindfulness in education. The book addresses the rise of the, "mindfulness movement", and the core concerns behind the critiques of the growing popularity of mindfulness. It covers a range of dichotomies, such as traditional versus modern, religious versus secular, and commodification versus critical thought and probes beyond the East/West binary to larger questions of economics, philosophy, ethics, and, ultimately, meaning. Featured topics include: A compilation of Buddhist meditative practices. Selling mindfulness and the marketing of mindful products. A meta-critique of mindfulness critiques - from McMindfulness to critical mindfulness Mindfulness-based interventions in clinical psychology and neuroscience. Corporate mindfulness and usage in the workplace. Community-engaged mindfulness and its role in social justice. The Handbook of Mindfulness is a must-have resource for clinical psychologists, complementary and alternative medicine professionals/practitioners, neuroscientists, and educational and business/management leaders and policymakers as well as related mental health, medical, and educational professionals/practitioners.
Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness by
Over the last two decades, Eastern psychology has provided fertile ground for therapists, as a cornerstone, a component, or an adjunct of their work. In particular, research studies are identifying the Buddhist practice of mindfulness--a non-judgmental self-observation that promotes personal awareness--as a basis for effective interventions for a variety of disorders. The Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness is a clearly written, theory-to-practice guide to this powerful therapeutic approach (and related concepts in meditation, acceptance, and compassion) and its potential for treating a range of frequently encountered psychological problems. Key features of the Handbook: A neurobiological review of how mindfulness works. Strategies for engaging patients in practicing mindfulness. Tools and techniques for assessing mindfulness. Interventions for high-profile conditions, including depression, anxiety, trauma Special chapters on using mindfulness in oncology and chronic pain. Interventions specific to children and elders, Unique applications to inpatient settings. Issues in professional training. Appendix of exercises. The Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness includes the contributions of some of the most important authors and researchers in the field of mindfulness-based interventions. It will have wide appeal among clinicians, researchers, and scholars in mental health, and its potential for application makes it an excellent reference for students and trainees.
Mindfulness Pocketbook by
Follow-up to the bestselling Mindfulness: Be Mindful. Live in the Moment. Gill Hasson, author of the bestselling Mindfulness is back and this time you can fit her advice in your pocket! This little book is packed with over 100 quick exercises, each dealing with a different situation, to help you get calm, collected, and balanced. So whenever you start to feel the stress mounting, reach for your Mindfulness Pocketbook, find the relevant exercise and instantly make life better! So if you feel like life is moving too fast and you're struggling to keep up with constant demands and commitments, don't let anxiety and worry get the better of you -- integrate these mindfulness exercises, practices, and reflections into your daily life and get in control and feel more confident, calm, and present. By progressing through the pocketbook, you will develop mindful ways of thinking and doing that will benefit a wide range of situations in your personal, social, and work life. Slow down, take a deep breath, and take that step toward an easier and more manageable life. The Mindfulness Pocketbook will help you: Move in the direction of greater calm, balance, and wellbeing Increase your insight and awareness Break free from unhelpful thoughts and thinking patterns, feel more confident, and have better self-esteem Be more able to manage other people's demands, stress, anxiety, and worry Experts increasingly recognise that developing mindfulness skills is an effective way to improve performance, reduce stress, enhance emotional intelligence, increase life satisfaction, and develop leadership skills. A mindful person consciously brings awareness to the here-and-now with openness, interest, and receptiveness. Mindfulness Pocketbook is the take-with-you guide to receptive, constructive thinking.
Mindfulness for Therapists by
Mindfulness for Therapists presents an innovative eight-week mindfulness protocol designed to aid therapists--which may be worked through alone or in small groups Presents the first complete mindfulness program designed to improve the personal and professional well-being and effectiveness of therapists themselves Features an 8-week introduction to mindfulness in the form of exercises designed to help therapists develop their own meditation practice and apply it to their lives Integrates key research that includes the Five Facets of Mindfulness, the Three-Person-Perspectives approach, and the neurobiological foundations of mindfulness training Supported by online meditations and exercises for therapists