Articles - HUS 371 - Insight, Compassion & Empathy for the Helping Professions - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

OneSearch: Start Here!

Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once!

What is OneSearch?

How to read scholarly articles

How to read scholarly articles
"While books are undoubtedly fabulous resources, you will find shorter, specific, scholarly works in academic journals. Essays in academic journals are essentially reports that scholars write to their peers—present and future—about what they’ve done in their research, what they’ve found, and why they think it’s important. Thus, in a lot of fields they often have a structure reminiscent of the lab reports you’ve written for science classes"

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Many of the most popular full-text journals are available with no embargo. In addition, this resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more. CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
CogPrints Electronic Archive This link opens in a new window Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Counseling and Therapy in Video-Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed. This link opens in a new window Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Index to the literature of family science, human ecology, and human development. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and government reports. Updated monthly.
JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new window Building on the editorial excellence of JAMA®, the Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA Network Open™ and the 11 JAMA Network™ specialty journals offer enhanced access to the research, reviews and perspectives shaping medicine today and into the future. Through a variety of innovative tools, the JAMA Network™ provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 magazines, journals, books, and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and important speeches. It also includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals.
NIH Public Access This link opens in a new window The NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH funded research. It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication. To help advance science and improve human health, the Policy requires that these papers are accessible to the public on PubMed Central no later than 12 months after publication.
Proquest Sociology This link opens in a new window ProQuest Sociology is a collection of selected journals with full-text coverage of many core titles included in the Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts databases. It covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES™ is a database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. The database is updated daily.
Psychiatry Online -- Includes DSM-V This link opens in a new window Psychiatry Online is a searchable full text database that includes the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Library (DSM) Library, scholarly journals, and textbooks published by the American Psychiatry Association.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

New York Times Health and Human Services Department
Use this NYTimes website to search for articles. Then, go to the New York Times (Journal Finder) to locate the full article.
https://library.umaine.edu/auth/EZproxy/test/authej.asp?url=https://search.proquest.com/publication/11561?accountid=28933

Do you have a topic?

Do you have a thesis or statement?

Do you have keywords?

Peer-review? and Evaluating articles

What does Peer-Reviewed mean?

A scholarly periodical which requires that each article submitted for publication be judged by an independent panel of experts (scholarly or scientific peers). Articles not approved by a majority of these peers are not accepted for publication by the journal. Peer-reviewed articles are generally considered to be scholarly and reliable resources.

Peer-Review Process Explained:

How do I tell what articles I find are considered scholarly and what are popular or trade resources?

From the University of Maine at Farmington: Guide to identifying scholarly sources

	Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Professional / Trade Journals
Written by	scholars / researchers	journalists	journalists / industry experts
Written for	professors, students	general public	people who work in that field
Looks like	mostly text, may have charts & graphs	glossy covers, many advertisements, & photographs	glossy covers & industry specific ads
Articles	contains original search/analysis usually signed by the author long articles written in scholarly/technical lang. contain bibliographies peer-reviewed	info about current events, trends, pop culture not always signed by the author short articles written for general reader no bibliographies not peer-reviewed	report on industry news & trends not always signed by author short articles written in tech lang. specific to industry may be bibliographies could be peer-reviewed
Examples	Studies in Short Fiction Journal of Chemical Education	Time * Newsweek Ladies Home Journal	RN * Accounting Review Library Journal