Resource Guides: Anthropology: Articles and Databases

Search for articles (across multiple databases), books, and more--all at once!
What is OneSearch?

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute This link opens in a new window Index to the more than 600 periodical included in the Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library. Topics covered include archaeology, ethnomusicology, physical and cultural anthropology and human biology. Search by author, title, keyword, or journal title (or combine terms). (If search form is incomplete, click Reload button.) International in scope.
Palmer Collection This link opens in a new window The William P. Palmer III Collection of archaeological material from Mexico and Central America and ethnographic holdings from the Northwest Coast of the United States and Canada is the Hudson Museum's pre-eminent collection. The Palmer Collection features an internationally significant assemblage of 2,828 Precolumbian ceramics, lithics and gold work dating from 2000 BC to the Spanish Conquest. In addition to its Precolumbian component, the collection includes over 200 objects from the Northwest Coast that date to the heyday of Northwest Coast collecting, 1875-1930. (More about the collection: http://library.umaine.edu/hudson/palmer/about.asp ).

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
CogPrints Electronic Archive This link opens in a new window Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Sociology Collection (includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Index to the literature of family science, human ecology, and human development. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and government reports. Updated monthly.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

CiteSeerX CiteSeerx is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused mainly on computer and information science literature. This engine lists the most frequently cited authors and documents in computer and information science literature, as well as impact ratings.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography This service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Find White Papers Search through hundreds of technology topics and thousands of white papers. Platform includes one-click main categories and sub-categories, including security.
Microsoft Academic Built on top of Bing's web crawling infrastructure this tool discovers and indexes academic papers with over 150 million entities covering computer science and a variety of other disciplines.

OpenURL Linker

Use OpenURL to request articles when full text is not available.

Click the OpenURL icon adjacent to the database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
If article not available online (in a different database) or in print (in the library), click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
You will receive a link to the electronic article (pdf) by e-mail in 3-5 working days.

More info about ILL