ENG 101 - Powers - Spring 2024 - ENG 101 - College Writing - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

Greetings, College Writers!

I am looking forward to working with you in this course and, hopefully, throughout your college career - and beyond. :-)

~Donna
donna.maher@maine.edu

Today's plan

Activity 1: Writing as a tool to heal trauma

Google: Writing as a tool to heal trauma
- How many resources did you find?
- What types?
- Who are the responsible parties?
- Do you think you found an answer? Or a source that can help?
OneSearch: Writing as a tool to heal trauma
- Put in the all the words
- How many resources did you find? 11
- What types?
- “Quick Look”
- Do you think you found an answer? Or a source that can help?
OneSearch: select the important words: writing trauma heal
- How many resources did you find? 163
- What types?
- “Quick Look”
- Do you think you found an answer? Or a source that can help?
- What types of sources did you find?
  1. Books/eBooks
  2. Newspaper articles
  3. Journal articles
OneSearch: select the important words: writing trauma heal* See Infographics to the left.
- How many resources did you find? 3,073 / 163
- What types?
- “Quick Look”
- Do you think you found an answer? Or a source that can help?
- What types of sources did you find?
#2 from keywords
Glass, O., Dreusicke, M., Evans, J., Bechard, E., & Wolever, R. Q. (2019). Expressive writing to improve resilience to trauma: A clinical feasibility trial. Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice, 34, 240-246. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ctcp.2018.12.005.
- Subject terms:
  1. Therapeutic writing
  2. Trauma
  3. Traumatic life events
  4. Wounds and Injuries - psychology
  5. Wounds and Injuries - therapy
  6. Writing
- Any different source types than from above?
  1. Newsletter?
  2. Dissertation/thesis
  3. Book review
Purpose???
What are some ways to refine and/or narrow your search?

Activity 2: Independent research time

What is something that might be important to you? For example:

If your child is diagnosed with ADHD, where would you look and what do you want to know?

What types of information might answer your questions?
What probably will not help?
Do you know what the information might or should look like?

Try using OneSearch. Only the important words.
Narrow your search by selecting one (1) content type.
- For example, try Reference.
- Did you find anything?
  - If yes, have you found enough? If yes, I guess you are finished. :-)
  - If not, what might be another way to narrow or limit your search?
Do you think you might have better luck with Google?
Whether using Google, Google Scholar, or a library database, keep these suggestions in mind.
Evaluating your sources

Don’t hesitate to ask questions! We can help.

Types of information

Books and encyclopedias
Websites, web pages, and blogs
Magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
Research reports and conference papers
Field notes and diaries
Photographs, paintings, cartoons, and other artworks
TV and radio programs, podcasts, movies, and videos
Illuminated manuscripts and artifacts
Bones, minerals, and fossils
Preserved tissues and organs
Architectural plans and maps
Pamphlets and government documents
Music scores and recorded performances
Dance notation and theater set models

Fiction

Non-fiction

Types of articles

“1. Categorizing Sources.” 2015. Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research, Teaching & Learning, Ohio State University Libraries, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted. https://ohiostate.pressbooks.pub/choosingsources/chapter/categorizing-sources/.

Databases

Generally, when referring to databases, especially academic (college and university) library databases, we are referring to Scholarly resources. Specifically Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed articles.

Each database contains a collection of information about articles (in this case). The database could contain a broad selection of subjects or disciplines, such as Academic Search Complete. Others contain specific information, such as Agricola.

Check out our A to Z list of Databases to see the many different types. You will see video databases, reference resources, as well as other types of information.

Two of my favorite databases are:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
Swank (Digital Campus) This link opens in a new window Click "Use maine.edu Login" to use.Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters)". Please contact Cynthia Young or Donna Maher to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre has grown to become the world's biggest on demand platform specialising in delivering live arts content such as theatre, opera, classical music, and dance. With a simple and straightforward objective to make arts accessible regardless of geographical, social or economic boundaries, the team at Digital Theatre have filmed, acquired and distributed the very best in captured live entertainment.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Online This link opens in a new window From Europe and America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the 'Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture' covers the recent history of the Jewish people from 1750 through the 1950s. Originally published in German as the 'Enzyklopädie jüdischer Geschichte und Kultur' by J.B. Metzler Verlag (Stuttgart/Weimar) in 2011 the work includes approximately 800 entries that present the state of international research and reveal a complex portrait of Jewish life - illuminated by many maps and illustrations. Central themes convey information on topics such as autonomy, exile, emancipation, literature, liturgy, music, and science of Judaism. The encyclopedia provides knowledge in an overall context and offers academics and other interested readers new insights into Jewish history and culture. The work is an outstanding contribution to the understanding of Judaism and modernity
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed. This link opens in a new window Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
English-Spanish Library and Information Studies Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary This link opens in a new window For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information. Each month, our Web sites offer guidance to more than 40 million visitors. In print, our publications include Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (among the best-selling books in American history) and newly published dictionaries for English-language learners. All Merriam-Webster products and services are backed by the largest team of professional dictionary editors and writers in America, and one of the largest in the world.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with sound files, musical examples, and Web links. Contains the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

Legislative Reports (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window Legislative reports, study reports, executive summaries of reports of the Maine State Legislature
Uniform Crime Reports (FBI) This link opens in a new window Annual reports based on crime data reported by more than 17,000 law enforcement agencies, nation-wide.
National Technical Information Service Technical Reports This link opens in a new window This is a subset of the NTIS database. This Technical Reports database indexes government reports from 1990 to present. Over 350,000 publications are included. Searching is by keyword, which includes authors' names. No abstracts are presented. Bibliographic information provided includes title, author, author affiliation, total pages, date, and document type
Proquest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines the broad journal coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources, most available full text. It includes industry reports, country reports, company data (annual reports, profiles, SWOTs), market research, and analyses. Content types include scholarly journal articles, working papers, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, websites, books, case studies, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, magazines, standards and practice guidelines, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, working papers, video, and audio.

"Topic sources of information diagram" by Jreferee is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0.

Information Timeline Graphic by adstarkel. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0