Find Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic also features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.

ProCon.org The Pros and Cons of controversial issues. The mission statement at ProCon.org is: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format."
ResearchGate Google Scholar often finds these articles, too.
CFR (Council on Foreign Relations) Education ...a valuable resource offering students and educators free supplemental content on complex global affairs and foreign policy issues. Our extensive library, grounded in best pedagogical practices and expert insights, equips students with the knowledge, skills, and perspective necessary to navigate today's most critical global challenges.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects. Over 310 journals can be searched by article title. Most articles are in English. Records for articles in foreign languages have English abstracts.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
more...less...
OpenDOAR has opted to collect and provide information solely on sites that wholly embrace the concept of open access to full text resources that are of use to academic researchers. Thus sites where any form of access control prevents immediate access are not included: likewise sites that consist of metadata records only are also declined.
Scientific Data's Recommended Data Repositories
Repositories included on this page have been evaluated to ensure that they meet our requirements for data access, preservation and stability. Please be aware, however, that some repositories on this page may only accept data from those funded by specific sources, or may charge for hosting data.
Open Access Directory (OAD) Disciplinary repositories
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
more...less...
This is a list of OA disciplinary repositories (also called central or subject repositories). Unless otherwise noted, they accept relevant deposits regardless of the author's institutional affiliation.
This list includes both preprint and postprint repositories.
Some recommended repositories
From Sotheby's Institute of Art Libraries - some (mostly) UK sites.

These browser extension help you located full-text articles online.

Aaron Tay writes about various topics related to librarianship and electronic resources.
"Aaron Tay is currently Library Analytics Manager, Singapore Management University and before that was E-services Facilitator, Senior Librarian at the National University of Singapore Libraries."

Academic related browser extensions : Browser extensions (Scite/Scholarcy)and improvements to Zotero
This has a great introduction to the most popular browser extensions as well as a discussion of the three mentioned in the title of the article.

A comparison of 6 Access Broker browser extensions Lean Library, Kopernio, Anywhere Access, Libkey Nomad & more
This is a great (but long) discussion of browser extensions to find full-text articles.

CINAHL Plus Full Text tutorial
This video provides an overview of searching the CINAHL Plus Full Text database.
CINAHL includes journals on allied health and nursing subjects.

**Click on DATABASES, not Find Articles, on the Libraries' homepage.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window The U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, regional newspapers as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It delivers full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Includes preferred access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New York Times This link opens in a new window The New York Times is a globally recognized newspaper known for its in-depth reporting on current events, politics, business, culture, and more. Established in 1851, it is a leading source of news and analysis, offering both print and digital editions. Renowned for its investigative journalism, the Times has won numerous Pulitzer Prizes and is considered a benchmark for journalistic excellence.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.
Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new window Google News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. Contains a handful of Maine newspapers with content going back to 1800s for some of them and 1908 for BDN.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

If you are looking for information on/from other states, there should be similar information on those states' sites.

Maine Revised Statutes This link opens in a new window Maine Revised Statutes current to the [Session Number] Legislature.
Maine Superior Court Decisions This link opens in a new window Full text PDF documents received by the University of Maine School of Law Donald L. Garbrecht Law Library from the clerks of various courts dating from January 2000 through present. Decisions cross referenced by Plaintiff, Defendant, Judge and County. Includes citations and references.
Directory of Bills (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window Maine Legislature Legislative Documents (L.D.) For the 119th Legislature-
Legislative Record (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window This site contains the full scanned text of the proceedings and debate of the Maine State Legislature from the first volume, issued in 1897, to the end of the previous session.
Legislative History (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window INDIVIDUAL Legislative Histories: Compiled legislative histories for every Public Law, Private and Special Law, Resolve, Constitutional Resolution, Initiated Bill, Legislative Document, and House or Senate Paper since 1993. Includes links to full-text documents. TOPICAL Legislative Histories: Subject-themed legislative histories on popular topics such as amendments to the Maine Constitution, abortion, and term limits. Includes links to full text documents.
Legislative Reports (Maine State Legislature) This link opens in a new window Legislative reports, study reports, executive summaries of reports of the Maine State Legislature
Maine Town Reports This link opens in a new window Full text searchable reports from forty-two towns are available. The ongoing project currently represents a range of geographic, cultural and business interests across all sixteen counties in the state. The focus has been on the earliest reports published up through 1950. The Maine Town Reports Digital Project is a collaboration between Fogler Library and the Maine State Library.
Maine Historical Society Databases This link opens in a new window Maine History, a publication of the Maine Historical Society: Maine History is the only periodical devoted to scholarship on Maine history. It is published two times a year by the Maine Historical Society in cooperation with the Department of History at the University of Maine. This database contains fully searchable pages from Volumes 9 through 53.1. From this section you can also download and view recent issues of Maine History. Also in this database: City of Portland, Record of Naturalization Papers, 1850–1910 Naturalization Petitions of U.S. District Court (Portland, Maine), 1912–1929 Portland Voter Registrations 1891–1902 Town of Deering, Record of Naturalization Papers, 1873–1898 Maine Memory Network
DigitalMaine Repository This link opens in a new window DigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Maine Memory Network This link opens in a new window The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 200 organizations from across Maine.

Maine Census Data Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present. Special search keys provided include: county/year; town/year; population threshold (maximum or minimum); population trend (increasing or decreasing); and master list of towns. Some annotation is included for boundary changes of minor civil divisions.
Laws of the State of Maine
Maine State Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Laws of Maine beginning with the 118th Legislature. Includes a Search Feature.
Maine's Health Priorities
A research guide page.
Museums in Maine A research guide page with a list of Maine museums.

Statistics databases and other statistics sources This is a list of UMA databases and other resources for statistics information.

Boolean search tips

Boolean search tips infographic

Boolean Search tips

for Google & other search engines

AND

Using AND between 2 or more terms finds resources with all the terms. This will narrow your search.
Google and other engines will assume AND if you do not use it.
Examples:
•   software AND engineer
•   software engineer
•   “customer service” AND hospitality
•   “instructional design” AND “e-learning”
•   human resources

OR

Using OR between 2 or more terms finds resources with only one or more of the terms.
This will broaden your search.
Examples:
• "customer service" OR hospitality
• Helpdesk OR “Help Desk” OR “Technical Support”

NOT or –

Using NOT will find resources without the word that immediately follows NOT.
Some search engines, like Google use a - instead of NOT.
This will narrow your search.
Examples:
• NOT director
• director NOT executive NOT vp NOT “Vice President”

* (asterisk) aka "Truncation"

An * next to or inside a word will allow for variations of that word.
This will broaden your search.
Examples:
• chees* = cheese, cheeses, cheesy, cheesiest, etc.
• genetic* AND child* = genetics, geneticist, genetically AND childhood, children, child

QUOTATION MARKS

Putting one or more words within quotation marks will find resources with that exact word or phrase.
This will narrow your search.
Examples:
•   "supercalifragilisticexpialidocious"
•   "Vice president"
•   "world health organization"

(BRACKETS)

Using brackets with other Boolean operators will help your search be even more specific.
This will narrow your search.
Examples:
•   (population AND taiwan) AND health
•   “Information Technology” (Sydney OR Melbourne)

PUTTING IT ALL TOGETHER

“Project Manage*” -Construction -(Brisbane OR Canberra) =
resources that have phrases beginning with Project Manage (Project Manager, Project Management, Project Managers), do not mention Construction and Brisbane or Canberra.

(“population growth” AND taiwan) AND health OR medicine =
results that include the population growth of Taiwan as well as the health or medicine of the population growth of Taiwan.

ENG 101 - College Writing

LibrarySearch: Start Here!