Resource Guides: Music: Find Articles

Contact UMA Libraries

LibrarySearch

LibrarySearch uses a single search box to search most of the library’s electronic and print collections: articles, books, DVDs, and more.

Advanced Search

Database Links

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with sound files, musical examples, and Web links. Contains the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the encyclopedia, with sound files, musical examples, and Web links.
Also known as: New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; Oxford Music Online
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century. JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Databases with music-related information

Accessing the Library Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You may either login using your maine.edu username and password, OR with your last name and library card number.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.