Resource Guides: Music: Additional Resources

ChoralWiki, home of the Choral Public Domain Library CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005, and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization. Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project. The logo is a capital letter A, taken from the very first press-printed book of polyphonic music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton, published in 1501. Its printer, Ottaviano Petrucci, is this library's namesake. Contains public domain music scores available for download.
Digital Sheet Music Consortium Digitized sheet music in the public domain (prior to 1923). Consortium members include UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and the Library of Congress, among several others.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1820-1860 Includes scanned sheet music from the turn of the century, concert programs and ephemera.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870 to 1885 Includes scanned sheet music from the turn of the century, concert programs and ephemera.
Bodleian Library of Broadsides The Bodleian Library has holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitized copies available to the research community.
INDIGEFI: Modern Indigenous Music Honoring the past and setting trends for the future… INDIGEFI is a weekly one-hour show featuring an eclectic blend of modern Indigenous music, hosted by Alexis Sallee (Iñupiaq/ Mexican American). The show introduces you to the future of Native music with new and trending artists, while honoring the past by diving into the tracks that have shaped what we hear today. The highlight of each program is an artist interview with a featured musician. These interviews explore the unique Indigenous background and passions that inform the artist’s work. INDIGEFI is distributed by Native Voice One and can be heard on radio stations across the country. The program is produced by Koahnic Broadcast Corporation (KBC), a nonprofit, Alaska Native governed and operated media center located in Anchorage, Alaska.
RUMBLE On: More Native American Musicians You Should Know
Matanya Ophee Collection (classical guitar) Highlights from the Ophee Collection include over five hundred first and early editions of major guitar composers including Fernando Sor, Mauro Giuliani, Matteo Carcassi, Ferdinando Carulli, and many others, as well as the only complete manuscript of the Dix Etudes by Giulio Regondi, discovered by Ophee in 1987. The collection also includes the personal scores and papers of Argentinian guitarist Domingo Prat (1886–1944), as well as a large amount of rare music for the Russian 7-string guitar from the 19th and 20th centuries. As founder of Editions Orphée, Ophee published some of the finest editions of classical guitar music--much of it from his own collection. This website includes more information on the collection, as well as digitized files of public domain music. When downloading files, please credit the Ophee Collection, Special Collections Research Center, Appalachian State University. Check back often as we continue to add new resources.

OnMusic Dictionary OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.
American Musicological Society: WWW Sites for Musicologists "The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship. 3,600 individuals and 1,100 institutional subscribers from over forty nations participate in the Society."
Online Resources for Music Scholars: Harvard University "This provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."
ASCAP American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers

African-American Music Ball State's African-American Music Research Guide ("Music styles of African Americans from colonial times to the present"),
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Music This Research Guide is from Belmont University's Lila D Bunch Library.
Music: Black Composers This Research Guide is from Carnegie Mellon University Libraries. Also check out other tabs: Asian-American, Indigenous, Latin-American, etc.
Music - Africana Music This Research Guide is from Oberlin College and Conservatory Libraries
Music - Diversify Your Repertoire This Research Guide is also from Oberlin College and Conservatory Libraries.
Anti-Racist Teaching & Learning Resources at AFL "A guide to help faculty de-colonize their syllabi, and to guide performers to diverse repertoire." From the Arthur Friedheim Library of the Peabody Institute.
Music Sources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion From Rowan U's Campbell Library: "Rowan University Libraries have many resources that can assist you in incorporating aspects of diversity, equity, and inclusion into your teaching practices and potential research. These issues have recently led to position statements from the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) on Inclusivity and Diversity (rev. 2017) and Equity and Access (2017) and the College Music Society set Fostering Equity and Opportunity in Music as their common topic for 2019-2020."
Institute of Jazz Studies "This research guide is intended to introduce you to jazz resources at the Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) and to those at other libraries, archives, and museums, as well as on the web." This Guide is from Rutgers University Libraries.
Music: Find Diverse Repertoire "This page provides search strategies for locating music from creators who are part of one or more of the following groups: LGBT identities; women; people of color; musicians outside of the Western European musical tradition." From Syracuse University Libraries.
Black Composers in Classical Music Temple University Libraries' Research Guide: "A research guide for finding recordings, music, and information on classical music written by black composers."
African American Studies: Music History This Research Guide is from the Tri-County Technical College (TCTC), SC, Learning Commons
Music Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism From the Tufts Libraries: "The aim of this research guide is to amplify the repertoire, music, and scholarship about and by Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC). This guide is a starting point for faculty and instructors who want to decenter their pedagogical practices, performances, concert programming, or research identify resources for bringing diversity, equity, and inclusion into teaching, performance, and research learn more about musical traditions of underrepresented people and groups locate repertoire beyond the Western European music canon Students may find this guide useful for identifying repertoire beyond the traditional canon and learning about music and musical traditions of BIPOC. A number of resources in this guide are open access or freely available online, while others can be used to identify repertoire, literature, or other content that may be held at Tufts Libraries or other academic libraries."
Music Education: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion From the University of Oklahoma University Libraries.

Various media

Art 21 video clips - PBS
Over 300 video clips from the Art:21 series. Look for links in the top of the video window to change video format to Quicktime or Windows Media
Prelinger Archives on the Internet Archive of Moving Images

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some dating from the 19th century.
JSTOR's moving wall policy means there is often a gap from 1-5 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

Use these sites to find free--but not necessarily copyright free--images online.

Google Image Search
Find "Free-to-use" (hopefully) images. Try to use the "tools" menu to find what you are looking for.

CreativeCommons Search
Search multiple sources for images and media, including Google, Flickr, Wikimedia Commons & more.

Flickr
This online image storage and presentation tool allows users to limit their advanced searches to images shared under Creative Commons licenses.
Compfight
Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research. We make good use of the flickr™ API, but aren't affiliated with flickr.

TinEye
Find out where images are posted and how they're being used.

Wikimedia
"A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone."

Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
New York Public Library's (NYPL) Digitized Collections
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
Library of Congress Digital Collections
You can do a keyword search using the search bar at the top of the page, or browse images using the limiters on the left sidebar.

Permission Free Resources: Find Images, Audio, Text, and Video Thank you to the University of Utah Libraries.
Find Public Domain and Openly Licensed Materials This guide to finding public domain and openly licensed materials is intended to highlight places where these types of materials may be found. This is not a definitive guide to such materials, nor do we make any guarantees regarding the license terms or copyright status of materials available through these sources. Thank you to The Ohio State University Libraries!
Internet Archive Audio Download or listen to free music and audio This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.

Flickr: The Commons This link opens in a new window
The key goal of The Flickr Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
National Gallery of Art: The Collection This link opens in a new window
Presents information about the collection at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. Allows users to search the collection by artist, title, or a combination of criteria. Contains a list of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper that are grouped by school. Links to the National Gallery of Art.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Robert Venn Carr, Jr. Online Gallery (University of Maine)
Robert Venn Carr, Jr. Collection: The significant collection of nearly 300 modern and contemporary prints given by Robert Venn Carr, Jr., Class of 1944, includes works by Pablo Picasso, Josef Albers, Alexander Calder, Käthe Kollwitz, Willem de Kooning, Frank Stella, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, David Hockney, Joan Miró, and Robert Delaunay.
Art Resource
Use the Advanced Search to find images. This resource is free to search. If you create an account, you will have ability to email image links to yourself.

Videos & images

There are many places on the open web to find video, images, and sounds.

Please be diligent: if you are using copyrighted material, ask for permission - if possible. If not, be sure to cite thoroughly.

Academic Video Online: Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts Discipline-specific Titles. Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection] This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.
Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre has grown to become the world's biggest on demand platform specialising in delivering live arts content such as theatre, opera, classical music, and dance. With a simple and straightforward objective to make arts accessible regardless of geographical, social or economic boundaries, the team at Digital Theatre have filmed, acquired and distributed the very best in captured live entertainment.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. Integrates into curriculum through learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a leading Australian based distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs). Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Swank (Digital Campus) This link opens in a new window Click "Use maine.edu Login" to use.Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters)". Please contact Cynthia Young or Donna Maher to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog.

Art 21 video clips - PBS
Prelinger Archives on the Internet Archive of Moving Images
Internet Archive Movie Archive
"This library contains over a million digital movies which includes classic full-length films, alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, and concerts."
Wikimedia Commons
"A database of 20 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute".

Creative Commons search portal This search includes: Europeana Flickr Google Google Images Nappy Open Clip Art OpenGameArt Openverse Sketchfab SoundCloud Thingiverse Vimeo Wikipedia Commons YouTube
Maine Memory Network
Smithsonian Images
Flickr Commons
Hubble Telescope Gallery
Library of Congress:Flickr
Pixabay free stock images
Allgo free plus-size stock images
Disabled and Here free stock images
The Gender Spectrum Collection The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
Public Domain Review
Google Image Search Find "Free-to-use" (hopefully) images. Try to use the "tools" menu to find what you are looking for.
Compfight Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research. We make good use of the flickr™ API, but aren't affiliated with flickr.
TinEye Find out where images are posted and how they're being used.
Google Art Project "Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
Library of Congress Digital Collections You can do a keyword search using the search bar at the top of the page, or browse images using the limiters on the left sidebar.
Getty Images-Open Content
Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York Public Library Digital Collections

Butler University's research guide (linked below) provides great information about citing, Creative Commons, and Fair Use.

If you are using Creative Commons media, see Recommended practices for attribution.

If you are using the media for a course/class, be sure to ask the instructor what style is required. In the Citing your sources tab, you can find help with MLA, APA, and Chicago-Turabian styles.

Using Images & Media