Resource Guides: Architecture: Find Articles

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Cory Budden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Nottage Library
Bangor Campus

207-262-7893

Contact UMA Libraries

Recommended databases for research

The library provides access to tons of databases, but the ones listed here are more focused on art and architecture. Hover over the icon to read through the descriptions to see what kind of resources you'll find in each of them.

You can also search through OneSearch, which searches all of our databases at one time. The OneSearch is the main search field on the library homepage, or you can use the widget below to start your search.

Print & eJournals

Architecture Journals

UMA Libraries provides access to some of the top journals in the field of architecture. Prints journals are located either in Katz Library, or Handley Hall. Be sure to check the item record for its location.

The following journals are available in print in Handley Hall in Augusta:

Architect
Domus - Italy
Dwell Magazine
El Croquis de Arquitectura y de Diseno
Fine Homebuilding
Fine Woodworking
GA Document
JA Japan Architect
Landscape Architecture Magazine - DC
Modern Steel Construction

Online Journals

The following journals are available online:

Architect
Online Journal
Domus
Online Journal
Dwell
Online Journal
Landscape Architecture
Online Journal
Modern Steel Construction
Online Journal
Full List of Art & Architecture eJournals
This list contains all of the eJournals available through UMA Libraries. If you see a publication you'd like to explore, click on one of the database links below the title. You can also search for specific topics within the journal by using the "Search Inside this Journal" search field.

Recommended Databases for Architecture

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from 1984 to present about art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative, from periodicals published throughout the world. Art Full Text also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins,as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. There is expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. For more recent years there are article abstracts (1994+) and full text articles from selected periodicals (1997+).
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to volumes 1-32 of Wilson's Art Index. International in scope. Covers architecture, archaeology, crafts, design, museology, photography, television and textiles, in addition to all aspects of art including graphic, folk, and decorative. Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals.
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals This link opens in a new window The only comprehensive American guide to the literature of architecture and design. Avery indexes more than 2,500 U.S. and foreign journals, most of which are not indexed in any other source. It covers international scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and major publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia as well as architects' obituaries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s.
Building Green This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Using this link for Google Scholar allows you access to the library's subscription resources through the "Full Text @ My Library" link. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text access to more than 400 journals from 100 not-for-profit scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. University of Maine at Augusta subscribes to the Basic College Collection.

Architecture