Find Articles - NUR 352 - Nursing Research - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

What is MeSH?

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) are in the MEDLINE database

If you'd like to learn more about Medical Subject Headings, check out the MeSH tutorial form the National Library of Medicine.

Contact Us

Journal Article Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Many of the most popular full-text journals are available with no embargo. In addition, this resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides quick access to nursing-related questions, and includes care plans, management topics, patient education handouts, skills checklists, videos, continuing education modules, and reference books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Updated weekly. *PsycINFO contains all full text content from PsycARTICLES*
Psychiatry Online -- Includes DSM-V This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online is a searchable full text database that includes the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Library (DSM) Library, scholarly journals, and textbooks published by the American Psychiatry Association.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Original research articles from over 170 BMC journals are freely available. However, BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services, including some affiliated with these journals, that require a subscription. For example, certain BioMed Central journals such as Genome Biology publish commissioned review content available only to subscribers. Fogler Library subscribes to the following BMC journals: Genome Biology.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref is an online library of electronic resources for medical students and professionals.
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
Cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes TOXLINE, Hazardous Substances Data Bank, ChemIDplus chemical information database, and other resources.