Resource Guides: Public Speaking: Find Articles

Learning Experience Librarian

Veronica Nargi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Katz Library
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME

207-621-3309

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

Check out LibrarySearch! It searches for books, articles, videos, and other types of information in one place. It also searches the resources in the libraries of the UMaine system. Visit the link below for more information or to being your search.

LibrarySearch

Databases

DigitalMaine Repository

DigitalMaine is a service of the Maine State Library that partners with other libraries, historical societies, museums, and local organizations to digitize a repository collection of original primary source materials from and about Maine. The repository includes maps, church records, genealogical records, town reports, photographs, and other primary materials. Items cataloged to DigitalMaine are accessible through the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Google News Archive Search
Google News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. Contains a handful of Maine newspapers with content going back to 1800s for some of them and 1908 for BDN.
New York Times Historical
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Washington Post
Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
A number of economic indicators and employment statistics are available on this government website.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a 2006 Cambridge University Press publication and database that updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.
National Center for Education Statistics
Data on education, pre-kindergarten through higher education, provided by the US Dept. of Education.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States through 2011
**The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.**
This electronic version of the Statistical Abstract provides access to approximately 1500 statistical tables drawn from published and unpublished data from federal agencies plus some state and private sources. Click Contents and Index to find specific tables. Use the Table of Contents to select tables from a list of broad topics (e.g. Population or Transportation). Use the Index A-Z to identify more specific topics (e.g. pets or jogging). Updated annually.
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
This is a free 43 MB downloadable book which provides a wide variety of statistics for as many nations as possible. Many of the tables in this report are copied from the Social Indicators, but many are unique.
U.S. Census Data
U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to statistics from popular data resources including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and others.
USA.gov
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

USA.gov is the official web portal of the U.S. government, but also provides organized access to state, local and tribal government sites. It gives answers to frequent questions from citizens, businesses and nonprofits, government employees, and visitors, including: government auctions, applying for government jobs or benefits; contacting elected officials; getting a passport; renewing one’s drivers license; access to vital records; getting a state business license; finding government benefits; and getting border wait times. Information is arranged by topic. Other search options include a keyword search engine, with results grouped by broad subject area; advanced search; and an A-Z agency listing.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
Academic Video Online: Premium [full collection]
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. More than half of the titles can be found only at Alexander Street.

Art & Design: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Art+and+Design
Diversity: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Diversity
Health Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Health+Sciences
History: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+History
Literature & Language: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Literature+and+Language
Music & Performing Arts: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Music+and+Performing+Arts
Psychology & Counseling: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Psychology+and+Counseling
Science & Engineering: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Science+and+Engineering
Social Sciences: http://libraries.maine.edu/auth/auth.asp?db=AVON+Social+Sciences
CQ Researcher
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.

Accessing Library Resources Online from Home

To access library resources from home you will need to login, or authenticate, into the library system. The library is required to verify that you are a student, faculty, or staff member with your login. You will login using your maine.edu username and password.

LibrarySearch Login: Your maine.edu information is the same username and password you use to access the UMA portal, Brightspace/Brightspace, MaineStreet, and other University resources.

LibrarySearch