Home - BUA 420 - International Business - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

Contact UMA Libraries

Quick Links

UMA Libraries Home Page This link opens in a new window
Check Your Library Record This link opens in a new window
Your library account: renew items, sign up for text alerts, view checkout history

LibrarySearch: Start Here!

Check out LibrarySearch! It searches for books, articles, videos, and other types of information in one place. It also searches the resources in the libraries of the UMaine system. Visit the link below for more information or to being your search.

LibrarySearch

Featured Website

Maine International Trade Center

http://www.mitc.com/

Maine International Trade Center (MITC) is Maine's leading source for international business assistance. Formed in 1996, MITC provides technical assistance and trade counseling, import and export leads, educational programs, and many other useful services to help Maine companies succeed in international markets. Our mission is to promote the expansion of Maine's economy through increased international trade in goods and services and related activities. We offer global exposure to Maine's small and medium-sized businesses through coordinated trade missions to Europe, Latin America, and Asia and participation in world-class trade shows such as MEDICA, Farnborough International Air Show, and the European Seafood Exposition.

Dec. 2012 Newsletter

Find a topic

Geography, dates, location, gender & age are just a few of the ways you can narrow your research topic. We recommend starting with one of these resources:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic also features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

ProCon.org The Pros and Cons of controversial issues. The mission statement at ProCon.org is: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format."
Start Your Research
How to narrow a research topic (from UCSC)

How to narrow a research topic

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. Bangor Public Library provides access via its in-house workstations.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate, the flagship database within the Academic Search family, boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience. With a total journal retail value of $3,573,743.05, it stands as the largest database in the Academic Search suite.
American Community Survey This link opens in a new window Data Profiles have the most frequently requested social, economic, housing, and demographic data. Each of these four subject areas is a separate data profile. The data profiles summarize the data for a single geographic area, both numbers and percent, to cover the most basic data on all topics.

CFR (Council on Foreign Relations) Education ...a valuable resource offering students and educators free supplemental content on complex global affairs and foreign policy issues. Our extensive library, grounded in best pedagogical practices and expert insights, equips students with the knowledge, skills, and perspective necessary to navigate today's most critical global challenges.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States through 2011 This link opens in a new window **The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.** This electronic version of the Statistical Abstract provides access to approximately 1500 statistical tables drawn from published and unpublished data from federal agencies plus some state and private sources. Click Contents and Index to find specific tables. Use the Table of Contents to select tables from a list of broad topics (e.g. Population or Transportation). Use the Index A-Z to identify more specific topics (e.g. pets or jogging). Updated annually.

ProCon.org The Pros and Cons of controversial issues. The mission statement at ProCon.org is: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format."
Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based, free-content encyclopedia project supported by the Wikimedia Foundation and based on a model of openly editable content. The name "Wikipedia" is a portmanteau of the words wiki (a technology for creating collaborative websites, from the Hawaiian word wiki, meaning "quick") and encyclopedia. Wikipedia's articles provide links designed to guide the user to related pages with additional information.

Please click on image below for Keywords tutorial.

This Keyword tutorial from Auburn University is described as:
This resource is intended for those who need to search a library database in order to find sources for research and writing activities.

Learning outcomes:
Recognize that the careful selection of keywords can help focus your research
Apply strategies to select relevant keywords and synonyms for your own research