Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tutorials for Library Resources

All of our UMA Libraries' tutorials and infographics in one place

Library Tutorials

Welcome to UMA Libraries' tutorials guide

Here you will find tutorials, videos, and infographics on

  • Using the library website to find resources
  • Navigating library databases including requesting materials from other libraries and finding peer-reviewed articles
  • Citations
  • And more! 

Use the left-hand navigation to see all of our tutorials

illustration student celebrating in front of laptop

Library Lingo

Glossary of Library Terms

If you hear a word that you don't know and it isn't on this list, ask a librarian! 

Term Definition
Database

A set of publications in one searchable, organized collection. Databases may include materials and publications that cover a variety of disciplines or subjects (multi-disciplinary), or may focus on one specific discipline or subject (disciplinary database).

Interlibrary Loan Borrowing a book or requesting a copy of an article from another library. For books, patrons may request a book that is not in the UMA Library collection from another library. The book will then be delivered to the patron's chosen campus or center to pick up. For a request article, a copy of the article will be emailed to the patron to download. 
OneSearch  An interface that allows patrons to search multiple databases and collections at once. The main search bar on the library homepage is the OneSearch search bar. 
Research Guides

Curated guides created by UMA librarian that provide information and library resources on a specific subject or specific course. Research guides are often a great way to start out research for a particular course or assignment. 

URSUS

The UMA Library is part of a collective of libraries that share resources. This collective is called URSUS and consists of all University of Maine System Libraries, as well as Bangor Public Library, The Maine State Library, and the Maine State Law and Legislative Library.

MaineCat

A statewide catalog that combines and links collections for most of Maine's public libraries, Colby College, Bates College, and Bowdoin College. 

You can request materials that are in MaineCat libraries with your UMA student, staff, or faculty ID card. Just like Interlibrary loan, once requested, the materials will be delivered to the campus or center of your choosing.

Glossary of Resource Types

Term Definition
Primary Source A firsthand account or original record created by participants or observers of an event either during or after the time of the event. Primary sources include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, photographs, audio or video recordings, born-digital items (e.g. emails), research data, and objects or artifacts (such as works of art, buildings, tools, and weapons). 
Secondary Source A source that analyzes, assesses, or critiques and event, era, or phenomenon. Secondary sources typically add a layer of interpretation to a primary source. Secondary sources are often books, scholarly or non-scholarly articles about a topic, or documentaries. 
Tertiary Source Organized collections of other sources. These reference sources include a wide collection of data or information. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, guidebooks, some textbooks, and Wikipedia. 
Peer-Reviewed Publication Journals that contain articles of quality, vetted scholarship. The peer review process means an article has been reviewed and checked for validity by other experts in the same field. The work is either recommend it for publication or rejected. These sources are sometimes referred to as juried, academic, or scholarly. 
Periodical  A publication that is issued on a regular basis (weekly, monthly, etc.). Examples include newspapers, magazines, and journals. 
Popular Publication Sources typically written for a general audience. Popular publications are usually written to inform, entertain, or persuade. They are not peer-reviewed, but typically adhere to certain ethical and editorial standards.
Trade Publication Publications that report trends in a specialized field, industry news, and product information typically written for researchers or professionals in that field. 
Accessibility Statement
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at uma.library@maine.edu to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.