Want more books? Search the URSUS Library Catalog and search for cybersecurity.
Digitization Transformation by
With the exception of written letters and personal conversations, digital technology forms the basis of nearly every means of communication and information that we use today. It is also used to control the essential elements of economic, scientific, and public and private life: security, production, mobility, media, and healthcare. Without exaggerating it is possible to say that digital technology has become one of the foundations of our technologically oriented civilization. The benefits of modern data technology are so impressive and the potential for future applications so enormous that we cannot fail to promote its development if we are to retain our leading role in the competitive international marketplace. In this process, security plays a vital role in each of the areas of application of digital technology -- the more technological sectors are entrusted to data systems technology, the more important their reliability becomes to us. Developing digital systems further while simultaneously ensuring that they always act and respond in the best interests of people is a central goal of the technological research and development propagated and conducted by Fraunhofer.
Guide to Automotive Connectivity and Cybersecurity by
This comprehensive text/reference presents an in-depth review of the state of the art of automotive connectivity and cybersecurity with regard to trends, technologies, innovations, and applications. The text describes the challenges of the global automotive market, clearly showing where the multitude of innovative activities fit within the overall effort of cutting-edge automotive innovations, and provides an ideal framework for understanding the complexity of automotive connectivity and cybersecurity. Topics and features: discusses the automotive market, automotive research and development, and automotive electrical/electronic and software technology; examines connected cars and autonomous vehicles, and methodological approaches to cybersecurity to avoid cyber-attacks against vehicles; provides an overview on the automotive industry that introduces the trends driving the automotive industry towards smart mobility and autonomous driving; reviews automotive research and development, offering background on the complexity involved in developing new vehicle models; describes the technologies essential for the evolution of connected cars, such as cyber-physical systems and the Internet of Things; presents case studies on Car2Go and car sharing, car hailing and ridesharing, connected parking, and advanced driver assistance systems; includes review questions and exercises at the end of each chapter. The insights offered by this practical guide will be of great value to graduate students, academic researchers and professionals in industry seeking to learn about the advanced methodologies in automotive connectivity and cybersecurity.
Women securing the future with TIPPSS for IoT : Trust, Identity, Privacy, Protection, Safety, Security for the Internet of Things by
This book provides insight and expert advice on the challenges of Trust, Identity, Privacy, Protection, Safety and Security (TIPPSS) for the growing Internet of Things (IoT) in our connected world. Contributors cover physical, legal, financial and reputational risk in connected products and services for citizens and institutions including industry, academia, scientific research, healthcare and smart cities. As an important part of the Women in Science and Engineering book series, the work highlights the contribution of women leaders in TIPPSS for IoT, inspiring women and men, girls and boys to enter and apply themselves to secure our future in an increasingly connected world. The book features contributions from prominent female engineers, scientists, business and technology leaders, policy and legal experts in IoT from academia, industry and government. Provides insight into women's contributions to the field of Trust, Identity, Privacy, Protection, Safety and Security (TIPPSS) for IoT Presents information from academia, research, government and industry into advances, applications, and threats to the growing field of cybersecurity and IoT Includes topics such as hacking of IoT devices and systems including healthcare devices, identity and access management, the issues of privacy and your civil rights, and more
The Modern Hospital : Patients Centered, Disease Based, Research Oriented, Technology Driven by
The rapidly growing developments in medicine and science in the last few decades has evoked a greater need for modern institutions, with modern medicine, advanced technologies, and cutting edge research. Today, the modern hospital is a highly competitive, multibillion dollar industry that plays a large role in our healthcare systems. Far different from older institutions, modern hospitals juggle the dynamics of running a business that proves financially fruitful and sustainable, with maintaining and staying ahead of medical developments and offering the best possible patient care. This comprehensive book explores all aspects of the inner workings of a modern hospital, from research and technology driven treatment and patient centered care, to the organizational, functional, architectural, and ergonomic aspects of the business. The text is organized into three parts. The first part covers a number of important aspects of the modern hospital including hospital transformation over the centuries, the new medical world order, overall concept, academic mission and economics of new healthcare. Additionally, experts in the field address issues such as modern design functionally and creating an environment that is ergonomically friendly, technologically advanced, and easy to navigate for both worker and patient. Other topics covered include, the role of genomics and nano-technologies, controversies that come with introducing new technologies, the world-wide pharmaceutical industry, electronic medical health records, informatics, and quality of patient care. Part II addresses nine specific elements of modernization of the hospital that deal with high acuity, life and death situations, and complex medical and surgical diseases. These chapters cover the organization of new emergency departments, trauma room, hybrid operating rooms, intensive care units, radiology, pharmaceutical and nutritional support, and most essential, patient and public relation services. These nine elements reflect the most important and most visible indicators of modernization and transformation of the hospital. Part III examines and highlights the team approach as a crucial component of the transformation, as well as specific perspectives on the modern hospital from nurses, physicians, surgeons and administrators. Finally, a chapter dedicated to patient perspective is also presented. The Modern Hospital provides an all-inclusive review of the hospital industry. It will serve as a valuable resource for administrators, clinicians, surgeons, nurses, and researchers. All chapters will be written by practicing experts in their fields and include the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information.
URSUS : Use the URSUS catalog to find physical books and online books in the Libraries, the University of Maine System, and beyond.
If you don't find what you need using the URSUS Library Catalog, try MaineCat and/or WorldCat, which are on the left side of the results page.
MaineCat : contains books from all over Maine.
WorldCat : If no library in Maine owns the book, try searching the worldwide library catalog: WorldCat.
Items found in WorldCat may be requested with Interlibrary Loan. This provides access to millions of items outside the state of Maine. Please plan ahead - shipments for items outside of Maine can be a week or more, depending on the location of the lending library.
First Time Users - Create an ILL Account
Go to our ILL System and click the link that says "Create an Account."
You may order available items from URSUS with your library card (UMA ID card) using the Request button.
Most books are loaned for 28 days and may be returned at the nearest campus, site, or center. Many items may be renewed online by logging in to My library account
Seeing an error message? Need to activate your library card for borrowing? Contact UMA Libraries for help!
