Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS)
The Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS) is currently viewed as one of the world’s leading centers for research and education in areas of information security that are crucial to the protection of critical computing and communication infrastructure. CERIAS is unique among such national centers in its multidisciplinary approach to the problems, ranging from purely technical issues (e.g., intrusion detection, network security, etc) to ethical, legal, educational, communicational, linguistic, and economic issues, and the subtle interactions and dependencies among them.
Center for Internet Security (CIS)
Mason Publishing & Recent Publications in the Field
Government & Military Resources
Web Resources & News
Write & Cite
MS-ISAC (Multi-State Information Sharing & Analysis Center) is to improve the overall cybersecurity posture of the nation's state, local, tribal and territorial governments through focused cyber threat prevention, protection, response, and recovery.
Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE)
CVE® is a list of entries—each containing an identification number, a
description, and at least one public reference—for publicly known cybersecurity vulnerabilities.
CVE Entries are used in numerous cybersecurity products and services from around the world,
including the U.S. National Vulnerability Database (NVD).
Cybersecurity Research - MIT EECS
We study algorithms and systems that protect the security and integrity of computer systems, the information they store, and the people who use them.
FIRST Security Library
FIRST provides many digital resources such as articles, papers, presentations, guides and references on security and related topics to its members and the general public.
IEEE Cyber Security (CYBSI)
The IEEE Cybersecurity Initiative (CYBSI) aims are to provide the go-to online presence for security and privacy professionals, improve the comprehension of cybersecurity by students and educators, and improve S&P designs and implementations by professionals.
Microsoft Security Response Center
The Microsoft Security Response Center's security researchers work to protect customers and the broader ecosystem.
National Security Archive: Cyber Vault
About the National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP)
The Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) is a 501(c)(3) worldwide not-for-profit charitable organization focused on improving the security of software.
SEI Digital Library
The SEI Digital Library at Carnegie Mellon provides access to more than 5,000 documents from three decades of research into best practices in software engineering. These documents include technical reports, presentations, webinars, podcasts and other materials searchable by user-supplied keywords and organized by topic, publication type, publication year, and author.
Software Engineering Institute - CERT Division
The SEI's mission is to support the nation’s defense by advancing the science, technologies, and practices needed to acquire, develop, operate, and sustain software systems that are innovative, affordable, trustworthy, and enduring.
Web Security is a collaborative effort across the Web ecosystem; W3C coordinates some of that work in its Security Activity. Among the work we are doing to help secure Web applications and Web usage.
Armed with Science
The official source for Department of Defense science and technology news. Science MATTERS. We no longer update the blog, but you can still read archived articles at https://science.dodlive.mil/ and follow https://go.usa.gov/xyC7G for the latest content.
Computer Security Resource Center
Resources from the Computer Security Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Cyber Essentials is a UK Government-backed and industry supported scheme to guide businesses in protecting themselves against cyber threats.
Cyber Security and Network Reliability (FCC)
The FCC’s responsibility is to ensure the reliability and resiliency of the Nation’s communications network and to promote public safety through communications. The FCC, because of its relationship with the nation’s communications network service providers, is particularly well positioned to work with industry to secure the networks upon which the Internet depends.
Defense Technical Information Center (U. S. Department of Defense)
Large central resource for the Department of Defense community and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
European Union Agency for Network and Information Security
The European Union Agency for Network and Information Security (ENISA) is a centre of expertise for cyber security in Europe.
FBI: Cyber Crime
The FBI is the lead federal agency for investigating cyber attacks by criminals, overseas adversaries, and terrorists. The threat is incredibly serious—and growing. Cyber intrusions are becoming more commonplace, more dangerous, and more sophisticated.
Federal Cybersecurity Research and Development Strategic Plan
The Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) Program is the Nation’s primary source of federally funded research and development (R&D) in advanced information technologies (IT) in computing, networking, and software.
Homeland Security: Cybersecurity Programs
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security lists cybersecurity news and resources.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Provides access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as dissertations, reports, and position papers from universities, research institutions, think tanks, U.S. local and state agencies, and international organizations.
Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3)
The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) accepts online Internet crime complaints from either the actual victim or from a third party to the complainant.
Malicious domain. Ransomware. Data-harvesting malware. Botnets. Cryptojacking. The Darknet. . Cybercrime as a service.
Words and phrases that scarcely existed a decade ago are now part of our everyday language, as criminals use new technologies to commit cyberattacks against governments, businesses and individuals. These crimes know no borders, either physical or virtual, cause serious harm and pose very real threats to victims worldwide.
National Cyber-Forensics & Training Alliance
The National Cyber-Forensics & Training Alliance (NCFTA) is a non-profit corporation founded in 2002, focused on identifying, mitigating, and neutralizing cyber crime threats globally.
National Cyber Security Alliance - StaySafeOnline.org
The organization consists of board members in industry (i.e. AT&T, Google, Facebook, Bank of America, Microsoft, McAfee, Paypal) with the mission to educate our digital society in Internet safety.
National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center’s (NCCIC)
The National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center’s (NCCIC) mission is to reduce the risk of systemic cybersecurity and communications challenges in our role as the Nation’s flagship cyber defense, incident response, and operational integration center.
National Cyberwatch Center
A consortium of higher education institutions, businesses, and government agencies focused on collaborative efforts to advance Information Security education/research and strengthen the national cybersecurity workforce.
National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE)
The National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE), led by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), is a partnership between government, academia, and the private sector focused on cybersecurity education, training, and workforce development.
National Security Agency Central Security Service
The Central Security Service (CSS) provides timely and accurate cryptologic support, knowledge, and assistance to the military cryptologic community.
It promotes full partnership between the NSA and the cryptologic elements of the Armed Forces, and teams with senior military and civilian leaders to address and act on critical military-related issues in support of national and tactical intelligence objectives. CSS coordinates and develops policy and guidance on the signals intelligence and cybersecurity missions of NSA/CSS to ensure military integration.
National Vulnerability Database (NVD)
The National Vulnerability Database (NVD) is the U.S. government repository of standards based vulnerability management data represented using the Security Content Automation Protocol (SCAP). The NVD includes databases of security checklist references, security-related software flaws, misconfigurations, product names, and impact metrics.
The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence
We do research, training and exercises in four core areas: technology, strategy, operations and law
NIST Computer Security Resource Center
Provided access to NIST's cybersecurity- and information security-related projects, publications, news and events.
NITRD - Networking and Information Technology Research and Devevopment Program
The NITRD Program is part of the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC). Federal agencies coordinate their networking and information technology research and development. Research areas include: Big Data, Cyber Security and Information Assurance, Software Design and Productivity.
Science of Security (SoS) Initiative
The National Security Agency Research Directorate sponsors the Science of Security Initiative to promote foundational cybersecurity science that is needed to mature the cybersecurity discipline and to underpin advances in cyberdefense.
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
Covers all types of official UN documentation from 1993 forward, except: press releases, UN sales publications, the UN Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information. Provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onward.
United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team
Within the U.S. Department of Homeland Security find Security Publications and other Related Resources.
The United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) leads efforts to improve the nation's cybersecurity posture, coordinate cyber information sharing, and proactively manage cyber risks to the nation while protecting the Constitutional rights of Americans.
U.S. Cyber Command
The Command has three main focus areas: Defending the DoDIN, providing support to combatant commanders for execution of their missions around the world, and strengthening our nation's ability to withstand and respond to cyber attack.
U.S. Military Academy Cyber Research Center (CRC)
CRC educates and inspires cadets and faculty in the acquisition, use, management, and protection of information through innovative teaching, curriculum development, research, and outreach to Army, DoD, and federal agencies.
Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA)
DISA is a combat support agency of the Department of Defense (DoD). The agency is composed of more than 8,000 military and civilian employees. The agency provides, operates, and assures command and control and information-sharing capabilities and a globally accessible enterprise information infrastructure in direct support to joint warfighters, national level leaders, and other mission and coalition partners across the full spectrum of military operations.
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession (ACM)
ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life‐long learning, career development, and professional networking.
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
The AAAS seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people." To fulfill this mission, the AAAS Board has set the following broad goals:
Enhance communication among scientists, engineers, and the public;
Promote and defend the integrity of science and its use;
Strengthen support for the science and technology enterprise;
Provide a voice for science on societal issues;
Promote the responsible use of science in public policy;
Strengthen and diversify the science and technology workforce;
Foster education in science and technology for everyone;
Increase public engagement with science and technology; and
Advance international cooperation in science.
ASIS is an international organization of cybersecurity practitioners.
Association for Ccomputing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Software Engineering (SIGSOFT)
The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering provides a forum for computing professionals from industry, government and academia to examine principles, practices, and new research results in software engineering.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Security, Audit, and Control (SIGSAC)
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Security, Audit, and Control (SIGSAC) mission is to develop the information security profession by sponsoring high quality research conferences and workshops.
Center for Internet Security
The Center for Internet Security (CIS) is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to enhancing the cybersecurity readiness and response among public and private sector entities.
Cloud Security Alliance
The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) is the world’s leading organization dedicated to defining and raising awareness of best practices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment.
Computing Research Association (CRA)
CRA counts among its members more than 200 North American organizations active in computing research: academic departments of computer science and computer engineering; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia; and affiliated professional societies (AAAI, ACM, CACS/AIC, IEEE Computer Society, SIAM USENIX). CRA works with these organizations to represent the computing research community and to effect change that benefits both computing research and society at large.
Cyber Threat Alliance
The Cyber Threat Alliance (CTA) is a group of leading cybersecurity solution providers who have come together to share threat intelligence on advanced attacks, their motivations, and the tactics of the malicious actors behind them.
Forum of Incident Response and Security Teams (FIRST)
FIRST brings together a wide variety of security and incident response teams including especially product security teams from the government, commercial, and academic sectors.
In 2014, the IEEE Computer Society, the leading association for computing professionals, launched an initiative with the aim of expanding and escalating its ongoing involvement in the field of cybersecurity.
Information Security Forum
Founded in 1989, the Information Security Forum (ISF) is an independent, not-for-profit organization with a Membership comprising many of the world’s leading organizations featured on the Fortune 500 and Forbes 2000 lists.
Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)
The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA)® is a not-for-profit, international organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications, and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill, and professional growth of its members.
Previously known as the Information Systems Audit and Control Association®, ISACA now goes only by its acronym to reflect the broad range of IT governance professionals we serve.
As an independent, nonprofit, global association, ISACA engages in the development, adoption and use of globally accepted, industry-leading knowledge and practices for information systems
The SANS Institute was established in 1989 as a cooperative research and education organization. Its programs now reach more than 165,000 security professionals around the world.
TRUST - Team for Research in Ubiquitous Secure Technology
University research to develop state-of-the-art security, partnering Carnegie Mellon University, Cornell University, San Jose State University, Stanford University, University of California, Berkeley, and Vanderbilt University
Association for Women in Computing
The Association for Women in Computing (AWC) was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1978 and is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing. AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Our members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants.
The purpose of AWC is to provide opportunities for professional growth through networking and through programs on technical and career-oriented topics. AWC encourages high standards of competence and promotes a professional attitude among its members. We are governed by a board of directors representing all of the local chapters.
The University provides reasonable accommodations to individuals with disabilities upon request. Any person with a disability who needs accommodations for a workshop should contact UMA Libraries at firstname.lastname@example.org to submit a request. Due to the lead-time needed to arrange certain accommodations, individuals should submit their request no later 1 week before the event.