Web Resources - AME/ANT 121/122 - Native American Cultures - Resource Guides at University of Maine Augusta

The Indigenous Topics research guide from the University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources has a treasure trove of resources! Take some time to look around.

HIST 3190: The American Indian in History Bowling Green State University's Research Guide contains good information on government documents, primary resources, and internet resources.
Library of Congress Research Guides 18 Indigenous Studies research guides.
Indigenous Research Guide This link will take you to a list of websites. However, the guide itself is full of great information.

Published Primary Sources Relating to American Indians From the U. S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Published government documents are a rich source of information for individuals researching American Indian history. They contain information on federal policy toward American Indians, overviews of Indian wars, and reports of Indian agents. These sources may also provide the necessary background to use other records in the custody of the National Archives efficiently. Published government documents are usually available at large university or public libraries, and at U.S. Government Depository Libraries.
American Indian Records in the National Archives Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business. Since the U.S. Government’s interactions with American Indians changed over time, knowing the geographic place and the time period will help create a more positive research experience. As you plan your research, consider this question: how does my research topic intersect with the U.S. Federal Government?
The Indigenous Digital Archive The Indigenous Digital Archive is here to help you explore the history of US goverment Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries. Explore, annotate and learn from over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School and others, all kinds of boarding school records, yearbooks, and letters.
IDA Treaties Explorer While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
Primary Source Nexus Primary sources, today in history, document resources, etc.
Gilder Lehrman Inst. of American History history, primary sources, multimedia

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet This site is constructed primarily to provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community. The information is organized, insofar as possible, to make it useful to the Native American community and the education community. The information presented here is the product of much cooperative work.
Indigenous Research Guide This link will take you to a list of websites. However, the guide itself is full of great information.

Indian Country Today "Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas. Our primary focus is delivering news to a national audience to your mobile phone. Indian Country Today is public media. We are a nonprofit news organization that sustains itself with funding from members, donors, foundations, and supporters. We also sell advertising in a variety of formats."
Native and Indigenous Cultures The Kennedy Center's education page. "Experience traditional Native American culture through dance, music and visual arts. Watch Native Pride the eagle and hoop dances, trace the life of a Navajo weaver, learn how Keith Bear makes a flute, make a listening doll, and meet fancy dancers Larry and Jessup Yazzie."

Indians.org "The American Indian Heritage Foundation was establised in 1973 to provide relief services to Indian people nationwide, to build bridges of understanding and friendship between Indian and non-Indian people. Through informative materials, special events, cultural sharing opportunities and this website, we have reached multiplied millions worldwide with positive and proper representations of contemporary Indian culture as well as preservation of the old and treasured."
more...less...
Use "Article Directory" or "Resource Directory" at the top of the page for navigation.
National Museum of the American Indian Take time to explore this informative site. You will also find beautiful images.
Powwows.com "Welcome to PowWows.com! We are your source to explore Native American culture and Pow Wow information. New to Pow Wows? Looking to learn more about Native American culture? Start Here!"
History.com Search for topic or period of history.
Native Languages of the Americas: Native American Cultures Tribes, culture, vocabulary, languages, etc.
U. S. History.org Various historical topics, documents, and people.
US Department of the Interior: Indian Affairs News, resources, genealogy, etc.
WikiProject Indigenous peoples of the Americas "The Indigenous peoples of the Americas are the aboriginal peoples of North and South America from ancient times to the present day. They include the Precolumbian peoples who lived in the Americas before African and European contact and the descendants of these peoples, including mixed-raced Indigenous peoples, such as the Mestizo, Métis, and others. As of 21 October 2020, there are 3,684 articles within the scope of WikiProject Indigenous peoples of the Americas, of which 9 are featured and 22 good articles. This makes up 0.06% of the articles on Wikipedia and 0.09% of featured articles and lists, with 0.07% classified as good articles. Including non-article pages, such as talk pages, redirects, categories, etcetera, there are 8,488 pages in the project."

The National Congress of American Indians "The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."
American Indian Library Association Breaking down public perceptions of who Native Americans are. Elevating conversation around Native American issues. Promoting Native education, literacy, and community.