Resource Guides: Election Guide 2024: Election Research Basics

Core Resources for Elections Research

America at the Ballot Box by Gareth Davies (Editor); Julian E. Zelizer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780812247190

Publication Date: 2015-09-14

America at the Ballot Box uses the history of presidential elections to illuminate American political democracy and its development from the early Republic to the late twentieth century.
Ballot Boxing by Lucy Santora
ISBN: 9798885040020

Publication Date: 2021-12-20

What does it mean to participate in democracy? Is merely existing as a registered voter enough, or do you have to participate in every election, every political discussion? In Ballot Boxing, author Lucy Santora takes a look at post-2016 America and the electoral process within.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Larry J. Sabato; Howard R. Ernst
ISBN: 9781438141817

Publication Date: 2014-04-01

...provide[s] a foundational understanding of an important segment of political life in the US.
Guide to U. S. Elections SET by C. Q. CQ Press (Editor)
ISBN: 1568029810

Publication Date: 2005-11-17

This two-volume set contains full information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific eras and issues, and everything in between.
Local Party Organizations in the Twenty-First Century by Douglas D. Roscoe; Shannon Jenkins
ISBN: 9781438459493

Publication Date: 2015-12-01

While past research has centered primarily on the role of national and state political parties in the United States, this book demonstrates the continuing central role of local political parties in the electoral process, providing readers with a more comprehensive understanding of the US party system.
The Politics of Voter Suppression by Tova Wang; Janice Nittoli (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780801466038

Publication Date: 2012-08-15

Tova Wang explains how, across the twentieth century, the issue of access to the ballot was transformed from a largely practical matter of electoral advantage into an ideological difference between the Democrat and Republican Parties.
Who Votes Now? by Jan E. Leighley; Jonathan Nagler
ISBN: 9781400848621

Publication Date: 2013-11-24

Who Votes Now? compares the demographic characteristics and political views of voters and nonvoters in American presidential elections since 1972 and examines how electoral reforms and the choices offered by candidates influence voter turnout.

Why Voting Matters
Interview with Iona College professor Jeanne Zaino about why everyone should vote.
Whose Vote Counts
Allegations of voter fraud and disenfranchisement in the lead-up to the 2020 election. With Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, New Yorker writer Jelani Cobb investigates how the pandemic is being used to sway turnout.
Get Schooled! How the Electoral College Works
Imagine if the United States Presidential Election was a talent show, only the public doesn’t vote for them. That – to be honest – is how the Electoral College works.
TedEd: Does Your Vote Count? The Electoral College Explained
You vote but then what? Discover how your individual vote contributes to the popular vote and your state's electoral vote in different ways--and see how votes are counted on both state and national levels.

New York Times Historical
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries. For current full text of the New York Times, use one of the following links: LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers, or the New York Times.
Washington Post
Index to and full text coverage of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. Coverage of national, international, and local news.

Congressional and Midterm Elections
From USA.gov, how congressional and midterm elections work.
How the President is Elected
From usa.gov all about our presidential elections process.
Trusted Voting Resources
From National Voter Registration Day, a list of trusted resources on voting.
Voter Registration Info
From vote.gov, find information on voter registration and deadlines.
Voting & Elections
Find answers to common questions about voting in the United States.

Election Guide 2024

Key Search Terms

Contact Us

On This Page

Core Resources for Elections Research